People from all over UofL are involved in sustainability initiatives. These are some key contacts.

UofL Student Groups addressing sustainability issues

Other UofL Campus Sustainability Groups

Local Organizations promoting sustainability in our community

Support our sustainability initiatives by designating your gift for the Green Fund for UofL. Donate here to support our work!
Thanks for Supporting the Green Fund for UofL

Assistant to the Provost for Sustainability Initiatives

Justin Mog
justin.mog (at)
Room 215, Urban & Public Affairs
426 W Bloom St.
Louisville, KY 40208

Ellen TrahanUofL Dining (Aramark) Sustainability Coordinator

Ellen Trahan
Barringer-ellen (at)

Sustainability Council Chair

Dave Simpson (Chair, Dept. of Urban & Public Affairs)
dmsimp01 (at)

Sustainable Operations Committee ChairSajid Mian

Sajid Mian (AVP Facilities Management)
sajid.mian (at)

Subcommittee Chairs:

Jason P. Abbott, PhD — Department of Political ScienceSustainability Planning & Administration Committee Chair

Jason Abbott (Political Science)
(502) 852-6832 (at)

Subcommittee Chair:

Sustainability Education & Research Committee ChairTamara Sluss

Tamara Sluss (Dir. Interdisciplinary Masters in Sustainability)
(502) 502-852-4040
tamara.sluss (at)

Brian Barnes

Sustainability Engagement Committee Chair
& Eco-Reps Program Director

Brian Barnes (Philosophy)
brian.barnes (at)

Henny RansdellStudent Government Association

Henny Ransdell (2020-21 Services V-P)

henrietta.ransdell (at)

Partnership for a Green City DirectorBrent Fryrear

Brent Fryrear
brent (at)

Interns 2018-19Sustainability Council Interns

Positions and contact information available here.

Green Unit Teams for Sustainability (GUTS) Representatives

Dean-appointed sustainability representatives at the school or college level who work together with UofL's Sustainability Council to improve and facilitate initiatives, programming, and activities in their units and across the University.




School of Law

Scott Campbell

College of Education & Human Development

Sherri Brown

Kent School of Social Work

Sarah Caragianis

Medical School

Karan Chavis

Dental School

MaryPat Chiavaroli

Speed School of Engineering

Dr. Jacek Jasinski

College of Arts & Sciences

Mary Ashlock

Music School

Bruce Heim

School of Public Health & Information Sciences

Bob Esterhay

School of Nursing

Dr. Luz Huntington-Moskos

College of Business

Beth Davis-Sramek


Sarah Drerup

Sustainability Council Departmental Liaisons

Liaisons are a first point of contact with their respective departments (or units). The purpose of this role is to improve coordination and planning across campus, helping to build a stronger, more connected social network for sustainability research, teaching, administration, and operations. They work to actively inform their departmental Chairs and colleagues about important sustainability activities, basically helping connect departments with the Sustainability Council and its committees. They also work to inform the Council and its committees about department culture, needs, and opportunities.





Angela Story
Jonathan Haws

Brandeis School of Law

Tony Arnold


Mark Running


Ying (Julie) Huang
Beth Davis-Sramek


Classical/Modern Languages


Nick Paliewicz

Dental School

Gerald Grant


Education & Human Development

Sherri Brown


Engineering (Speed School)

Mark McGinley
Dr. Jacek Jasinski

Fine Arts

Ying Kit Chan
Moon-he Baik


Humanities Karl Swinehart
Latin American and Latino Studies Anna Browne Ribeiro
Mathematics Csaba Biro
Medical School Karan Chavis
Military Science
Music School Bruce Heim
Nursing Dr. Luz Huntington-Moskos
Pan African Studies
Philosophy Brian Barnes
Physics and Astronomy
Political Science Rodger Payne
Public Health & Information Science Scott LaJoie
Aruni Bhatnagar
Psychological & Brain Sciences Daniel DeCaro
Social Work (Kent School) Sarah Caragianis
Urban & Public Affairs Daniel DeCaro
David Simpson
Women & Gender Studies

UofL Sustainability Banner