Paul Weber Award

2015-2016 Paul Weber Award

Application Timeline
  • Applications Accepted – July 14, 2015
  • Applications Due – August 14, 2015
  • Contact John Whitney, Program Coordinator, by email or by phone at 502.852.7623.

Information Sessions

Room 244, Ekstrom Library

Thursday, June 11, 9-10 a.m.
Monday, June 15, 1-2 p.m.
Friday, June 19, 11 a.m. - 12 p.m.
Wednesday, July 1, 10-11 a.m.

Contact John Whitney, program coordinator, at 502.852.7623 or to RSVP.


Established by Provost Shirley Willihnganz in October 2005, this university-wide teaching award recognizes departmental excellence in teaching at the University of Louisville. The award is named in memory of Dr. Paul Weber, a distinguished teacher, scholar and mentor at the University of Louisville.

About the Award

This award was developed to accomplish the following:

  • Foster and sustain a university-wide culture of teaching excellence;
  • Recognize departments who are engaged in sustained efforts to promote teaching excellence through implementing best practices in teaching and learning;
  • Encourage collegiality and the development of an academic community and “esprit de corps” that values and prioritizes discussions about teaching;
  • Reward departments with personnel who collaborate in exemplary ways to enhance student learning;
  • Encourage and reward those who implement initiatives and engage in ongoing efforts to document student learning and tie these efforts back into curricular planning at the departmental and/or unit level; and
  • Supplement departmental efforts to sustain meaningful innovations in teaching and learning.

Each year one department will receive up to $30,000. This award is intended to provide genuine incentive for departments to review approaches to teaching at all levels. For those who do not win the award, constructive feedback about ways of improving instruction will be provided by the selection committee. All departments are eligible to apply, including those who have won a Paul Weber Award in the past. Awardees may not submit a new application for three years from the date of the award.

In Fall 2009, the selection criteria and guidelines for the Paul Weber Awards were revised in response to feedback and recommendations from the 2009 Weber Selection Committee. Prior to that time, winning applications represented both prospective and retrospective projects. In this earlier format, the Paul Weber Award for Departmental Excellence was given as both a reward for ongoing excellence and as a grant for proposed teaching and learning enhancements. Beginning with the Spring 2010 awards cycle, the award was given solely to recognize the established and ongoing teaching excellence of departments and small units. This remains the primary objective of the award.

^ Top of Page