Latest News

Trauma Program to Participate in Department of Defense-Funded Clinical Trial Designed to Improve Survival for Trauma Patients
Two Department of Surgery Faculty Receive 2023 SOM Faculty Excellence Awards
Former Resident Sandra L. Wong, MD, Named the First Woman to Lead Emory University's School of Medicine
Dr. Russell Farmer Receives The Golden Apple Award
Machenzie Eason Wins UofL School of Medicine's Heart of the School Award
Department of Surgery Mourns the Loss of Dr. J. David Richardson
Dr. Ryan Shapiro Joins Department of Surgery
Trauma Team Partners with Community to Create Future Healer Award
Dr. Richardson to be 46th William T. Fitts Orator
Dr. Jones Encourages Local Community to Donate Blood
Department of Surgery Welcomes New Interns on Match Day 2021
'Resident Mom' Molly Burke-Poole To Retire
Pam Schmidt Wins UofL School of Medicine Heart of the School Award
Beloved Department Ambassador Debbie Krause Retires
Dr. Jason Smith Leads UofL Health COVID-19 Pandemic Response
Department of Surgery Welcomes New Faculty Member to the Division of Vascular Surgery
Anna Booker Wins Clinical Staff Award
Department Immunologist Discovers Biomarker Warning that Could Save Lives in Fight Against COVID-19
Dr. Richardson Wins University-Wide Service Award
Department of Surgery Welcomes New Faculty
Dr. Downard named Director of Division of Pediatric Surgery
Department to Offer Vascular Surgery Fellowship
Pediatric Surgeon Mary Fallat, MD to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award
Department Holds Virtual Graduation
Dr. Miller Named 2020 Faculty Inductee in the Gold Humanism Honor Society
Department Faculty Awarded at School of Medicine Awards Ceremony
Department Creates Division of Immunotherapy
Dr. Mohan Rao Receives Faculty Excellence Award
Dr. Tobin To Receive KMA 2019 Distinguished Service Award
Gunshot Victims Thank Trauma Team for Saving Their Lives
Nine Department Faculty Members Voted Top Docs In Their Specialty
Tyler Ellis, M.D., MSCR Joins Colon & Rectal Surgery Faculty
Dr. Dylan Adamson Joins Division of Transplantation
UofL Department of Surgery Announces First Patient Enrolled in NanoKnife® DIRECT Clinical Study for the Treatment of Stage III Pancreatic Cancer
Chair of Department Named President of the Southern Surgical Association
Department Coordinator Debbie Krause Wins Lifetime Achievement Award
ULH Operating Suites Renamed the Frank B. Miller, MD Operating Suites
Department Celebrates Retirement of Dedicated Cancer Researchers
Dr. Bradon Wilhelmi Receives KMA Educational Achievement Award
Transplant Team Has Banner Year
Dr. Kelly McMasters Named New Editor-in-Chief for Annals of Surgical Oncology
Department Bids Farewell to Faithful Employee
Surgery Chair Addresses Diversity and Sexual Harassment at National Meeting
Dr. Falcone Recognized for His Commitment to Medical Education
Department Holds Inaugural R. Neal Garrison MD Lectureship
Society of Surgical Oncology 2018 Presidential Address
Dr. Kelly McMasters Delivered a Touching Tribute to Dr. Frank Miller
First-Year Medical Students Attend Surgery Club Dinner
Chair of Department Named President of Society of Surgical Chairs
Gordon Tobin, MD, Named 2017 Ephraim McDowell Physician of the Year
Dr. Kelly McMasters Contributes to Major Report that Sets Out to Accelerate Cancer Care and Research
Price Institute of Surgical Research Celebrates 60 Years, Holds Reunion
UofL: Buildings don’t perform organ transplants – surgeons do
Surgery faculty perform First islet cell auto-transplantation In Kentucky
Dr. Kelly McMasters Delivers Powerful Commencement Address at UofL School of Medicine Graduation
Trauma Program to Participate in Department of Defense-Funded Study That Explores Prehospital Whole Blood Administration in Trauma Patients.