Two Department of Surgery Faculty Receive 2023 SOM Faculty Excellence Awards

 Gary Vitale, MD, received the 2023 UofL Service to Profession Award. Award. His contribution to the education of our residents and his fellows along with the care he has provided to his patients with complex biliary and pancreatic disease over nearly half a century has been extraordinary. Through his innovative and visionary efforts early in his career to embrace ERCP and advanced endoscopic procedures (long before the benefit was proven), he created one of the world’s premier pancreaticobiliary endoscopy and surgery programs within the Department of Surgery.   

A profile picture of Keith Miller, MD.Keith Miller, MD, received the 2023 UofL Service to the Community, Commonwealth, or Region Award. Award. Dr. Miller has become a significant contributor to the positive steps taken in all aspects of addressing firearm violence in our community, state, and region, ranging from awareness to action. Dr. Miller has been the recipient of multiple honors and awards for his ongoing contributions, including the 2023 Kentucky Medical Association Community Service Award. In addition, he was named a Health Care Hero in Health Equity by Louisville Business First, received the Kelsie Small Future Healer Award from the Christopher 2X Game Changers non-profit organization, and served on the Kentucky Medical Association Firearm Injury Task Force.