Congratulations to the Graduates of the 138th AOC!

Congratulations to the members of the 138th Class of the Administrative Officers Course! 46 Graduates representing 42 different agencies from 19 states received their diplomas on November 9, 2017. Congratulations to you all! 


Award Recipients of the 138th Administrative Officer's Course
Given November 9, 2017

Dr. William Walsh Director's Awards

The Dr. William Walsh Director’s Award is awarded to the graduate and undergraduate student with the highest grade point average (GPA) in each session of the Administrative Officers Course. 

Dr. William Walsh was the Director of the Southern Police Institute for 15 years – serving from 1993-2008.  He has demonstrated strong commitment and support to SPI and to the Department of Criminal Justice for many years.  This award for academic excellence was named after Dr. Walsh by his successor, Dr. Thomas Hughes, in 2009.  It continues to be a coveted recognition at the conclusion of each semester.

138th AOC Undergraduate Option:

Sgt. Eric Spitzer, Alaska State Troopers

138th AOC Graduate Option:

Lt. Jonathan Bastian, Lexington (KY) Police Department


B. Edward Campbell Award For Outstanding Service
The B. Edward Campbell Service Award is given by the Southern Police Institute. This award is for "meritorious service to fellow Law Enforcement Officers of the 134th Administrative Officers Course by Demonstrating Leadership and Commitment to the Shared Goals and Objectives of the Southern Police Institute."

This award was created to celebrate the devotion and nearly 40 years of service to the University of Louisville and the Southern Police Institute by Professor Emeritus B. Edward Campbell.

The 138th AOC Recipient:

Sgt. Cregg Dalton, Citrus Co. (FL) Sheriff's Office

Class Officers of the 137th Administrative Officers Course:

President: Sgt. Andrew M. Jones, Vernon Hills (IL) Police Department

Vice President: Sgt. John R. Griffin, North Myrtle Beach (SC) Police Department 

Secretary: Lt. Miste M. Stickland, Nash County (NC) Sheriff's Office 

Treasurer: Capt. David W. Gay, Savannah Chatham Metropolitan (GA) Police Department 

Historian: Lt. Billie Taylor, Lakeland (FL) Police Department

Chaplain: Capt. Joyce A. Smith, North Charleston (SC) Police Department 

Sgt. At Arms: Capt. Jay Webster, Texas Department of Public Safety 


138th Administrative Officers Course Class Roster:

Sgt. Jeffrey Artman, Louisville Metro Police Dept., KY
Lt. Jonathan Bastian, Lexington Police Dept., KY
Lt. Steven Bolger, Hollywood Police Dept., FL
Sgt. Stephen Bower, Cincinnati Police Dept., OH
Lt. Eric Burke, Charlotte Co. Sheriff's Office, FL
Sgt. John Chipman, Marion Police Dept., IA
Lt. Susan Coker, Knoxville Police Dept., TN
Sgt. Harrison Combs, III, Fayetteville Police Dept., NC
Capt. Anthony Copeland, Paducah Police Dept., KY
Sgt. Cregg Dalton, Citrus Co. Sheriff's Office, FL
Lt. Larry Davis, Polk Co. Sheriff's Office, FL
Sgt. Timothy Dowd, Palatine Police Dept., IL
Major Matthew Edwards, Bowling Green Police Dept., KY
Capt. Jay Eisner, DeKalb County Police Dept., GA
Assistant Chief Seth Ellington, Kaysville Police Dept., UT
Deputy Chief Robert Ford, Jr., Hartford Police Dept., CT
Capt. David Gay, Savannah Chatham Metropolitan PD, GA
Lt. Rafael Gonzalez, Richland Co. Sheriff's Dept., SC
Sgt. John Griffin, North Myrtle Beach Police Dept., SC
Deputy Chief Kelven Hadley, Pine Bluff Police Dept., AR
Lt. Craig Henson, Hillsborough Co. Sheriff's Office, FL
Lt. Reginald Hill, Conway Police Dept., SC
Lt. Lauren Hummel, County of Henrico Police Div., VA
Sgt. Andrew Jones, Vernon Hills Police Dept., IL
Major Todd Kessinger, Louisville Metro Police Dept., KY
Sgt. David Kitley, Fairview Heights Police Dept., IL
Sgt Kimberly Klare, Erlanger Police Dept., KY
Capt. Cory Kramer, High Point Police Dept., NC
Major Joshua Lynch, Jeffersonville Police Dept., IN
Deputy Chief John Matuga, Itasca Police Dept., IL
Sgt. Jacob McKnight, III, Louisville Metro Police Dept., KY
Sgt. John Mellen, University Louisville Police Dept., KY
Sgt. Brad Miller, Louisville Metro Police Dept., KY
Detention Capt. John Moore, Jr., Mecklenburg Co. Sheriff's Office, NC
Capt. Kathy Morgan, Overland Park Police Dept., KS
Sgt. Charles Nichols, Hopkinsville Police Dept., KY
Lt. Emory Payne, Palm Beach Co. Sheriff's Office, FL
Lt. Arnold Rivera, Louisville Metro Police Dept., KY
Capt. Joyce Smith, North Charleston Police Dept., SC
Sgt. Eric Spitzer, Alaska State Troopers, AK
Sgt. Luke Strait, Milwaukie Police Dept., OR
Lt. Miste Strickland, Nash Co. Sheriff's Office, NC
Sgt. Michael Tarr, Hamilton Co. Sheriff's Office, OH
Lt. Billie Taylor, Lakeland Police Dept., FL
SAC Arthur Walker, IV, Coast Guard Investigative Ser., DC
Capt. Jay Webster, Texas Dept. of Public Safety, TX