Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is the executive organ presiding over all of the activities of the PhD. It is interdepartmental and composed of members of the Department of Comparative Humanities as well as representatives appointed by the supporting departments in the College of Arts and Sciences.

The departments that are currently represented on the Steering Committee are Classical and Modern Languages, Comparative Humanities, English, Fine Arts, History, Philosophy, Theatre Arts, and Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies.

Pamela Beattie
Chair and Associate Professor, Comparative Humanities

Simona Bertacco
Professor, Comparative Humanities

Ying Kit Chan
Professor, Fine Arts

John Gibson
Professor, Philosophy

Alan Golding
Professor, English

Ann C. Hall
Professor, Comparative Humanities

Greg Hutcheson
Associate Professor, Classical and Modern Languages

Brandon McCormack
Associate Professor, Pan-African Studies and Comparative Humanities
Director, Ann Braden Institute for Social Justice Research

Maryam Moazzen
Associate Professor, Comparative Humanities

Ranen Omer-Sherman
Professor, Comparative Humanities
Jewish Heritage Fund for Excellence Endowed Chair in Judaic Studies

Janna Segal
Assistant Professor, Theatre Arts

Mary P. Sheridan
Professor, English
Director, Commonwealth Center for the Humanities and Society

Karl Swinehart
Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor, Comparative Humanities

Nancy Theriot
Professor, Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Jennifer Westerfeld
Associate Professor, History