Job Placement

Graduates from our Ph.D. program in Rhetoric and Composition have gone on to the following positions. Please note that the information below may not always represent the most recent updates. Click here for an overview of completed Ph.D. dissertations.

Name Graduation Placement
Megen Boyett 2021 Lecturer, University of Louisville
Edward English 2021 Visiting Assistant Professor, Oklahoma Baptist University
Joseph Franklin 2021 Writing Center Director, University of Puget Sound
Claire Jackson 2021 Visiting Assistant Professor, College of the Holy Cross
Jessica Newman 2021 Director of Tutoring Services, Jefferson Community and Technical College
Rachel Rodriguez  2021 Writing Center Director, Washington College
Christopher Scheidler 2020 Visiting Assistant Professor, Weber State University
Michael Baumann 2019 Assistant Professor, Marian University
Amy McCleese Nichols 2019 Associate Director, Center for Teaching and Learning, Berea College
Patrick Danner 2019 Assistant Professor, Misericordia University
Michelle Day 2019 English and Language Arts Teacher, Walden High School, Louisville
Layne Porta Gordon 2019 Tutoring and Writing Center Coordinator, Rollins College
Jaclyn Hilberg 2019 English Department, Collin College
Ashanka Kumari 2019 Assistant Professor, Texas A&M University-Commerce
Jennifer Marciniak 2019 Graduate Writing Center Director, Texas Tech University
Jonathan Udelson 2019 Assistant Professor, Shenandoah University
Rick Wysocki 2019 Assistant Teaching Professor, Ball State University
Sara P. Alvarez 2018 Assistant Professor, Queens College, CUNY
Khirsten Echols 2018 Assistant Professor, University of Pittsburgh
Keri Mathis 2018 Assistant Teaching Professor, Wake Forest University
Laura Matravers 2018 Assistant Professor, Chattanooga State University
Laura Tetreault 2018 Assistant Professor, University at Albany, SUNY
Rachel Gramer 2017 Assistant Professor, Illinois State University
Meghan Hancock 2017 Assistant Professor, Marshall University
Megan Hartline 2017 Assistant Professor, University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
Andrew Holladay 2017 Assistant Professor, University of Maryland-Baltimore County 
Jamila Kareem 2017 Assistant Professor, University of Central Florida
Ashley Ludewig 2017 Office of the Provost, Auburn University
Travis Rountree 2017 Assistant Professor, Western Carolina University
Elizabeth Chamberlain 2016 Assistant Professor, Arkansas State University
Harley Ferris 2016 Assistant Professor, University of Findlay
Brittany Kelley 2016 University Writing Program, University of California-Davis
Kathryn Perry 2016 Assistant Professor, California State University-Los Angeles
Stephanie Weaver 2016 Lecturer, First Year Writing Program, University of Oklahoma
Jessica Winck 2016 Assistant Professor, University of Maine at Augusta
Megan Bardolph 2015 Assistant Professor, University of Indianapolis
Ashly Bender Smith 2015 Assistant Professor, Sam Houston State University
Benjamin Bogart 2015 Senior Technical Writer, Next Level Solutions
Amy Lueck 2015 Associate Professor, Santa Clara University
Hem Sharma Paudel 2015 Lecturer, Rhetoric Department, University of Iowa
Hollye Wright 2015 AP English and Dual-Credit Composition Teacher, Fern Creek High School. Louisville
Shyam Sharma 2015 Associate Professor, Stony Brook University
Benjamin Wetherbee 2015 Assistant Professor, University of Science & Arts of Oklahoma
Shannon Howard 2014 Associate Professor, Auburn University
Carrie Kilfoil 2014 Lecturer, University of California-San Diego
Tika Lamsal 2014 Associate Professor, University of San Francisco
Brice Nordquist 2014 Associate Professor, Syracuse University
Barrie Olson 2014 Executive Director of Instructional Design, Carnegie Learning
Michael Sobiech 2014 Associate Professor, Carson-Newman University
John Vance 2014 Assistant Professor, Virginia State University
Matthew Wiles 2014 Instructor, Elizabethtown Community and Technical College
Caroline Wilkinson 2014 Assistant Professor, New Jersey City University