Creative Writing Contests

Information about the creative writing contests in the Creative Writing program

The Calvino Prize

The Calvino Prize is an annual fiction competition sponsored by the Creative Writing Program in the English Department of the University of Louisville. They will be awarded to outstanding pieces of fiction in the fabulist experimentalist style of Italo Calvino. Please note that these prizes are meant to encourage experimental writing, in the mode of Calvino, and are not meant to encourage merely imitative work.

The first place entry will be published in Miracle Monocle journal at the University of Louisville. Further, the winner will be invited to read the winning entry, all expenses paid (within the continental US), at the Louisville Conference on Literature and Culture Since 1900 held at the University of Louisville every February. The 10 finalists will be posted on the website. 

First Place: $2000 and Publication
Second Place: $300

Submission Guidelines 
Past Winners

2018 Calvino Prize Winner:

Amy Parker, “Pica Ceremony (for feeding the hungry ghosts)”

Amy Parker is a fiction writer with an MFA from the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. Her first book, a collection of linked short Amy Parkerstories (Beasts and Children, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016) was described by Kirkus Reviews as “riveting” and by Booklist as “An electrifying, daring, and magical debut collection.” Her work has appeared in Narrative, Five Chapters, At Length, Los Angeles Review Print Quarterly, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of a James Michener Fellowship in fiction and a Meta-Rosenberg fellowship in fiction, as well as grants from the Ucross Foundation, the Clarion Foundation, the Marble House Foundation, and the Sustainable Arts Foundation/Vermont Studio Center. She is a lecturer at the University of Iowa’s Center for Writing, and she lives in Iowa City.


Gania Barlow, “The Stories of Yonec’s Mother”


Samuel Barber, "A Thoroughly Conventional Visitor’s Guide Which no Self-Respecting Citizen of Our City Need Read”
Jake Buckholz, “Selections from the Whole Vile Lot"
Chris Kammerud, “Some Things About Love, Magic, and Trains”
John Kemmick, “The Great Growing”
Joseph Moore, “The Spire”
Kristin Posehn, “Boy with Frog”
Alanna Schubach, “Iris”
Katie Jean Shinkle, “As Close to Smiling as You Can Get”
Clare Tascio, “Other People”
Dan Tremaglio, “H-1B EXPERT OPINION LETTR #0718”
Dan Tremaglio, “A Presentation of the Top-five Biggest Objects in the Universe on the Eve of the Kronia"