Brandeis Law students recognized for outstanding achievement

A number of Brandeis School of Law students were recognized last week for their leadership efforts and outstanding accomplishments during a ceremony held at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.

According to Jennifer DiSanza, Assistant Dean for Student Life, the event is held specifically to honor students for their achievements, as well as to recognize the support of practicing attorneys and law faculty who volunteer to help students in moot court and mock trial competitions.

Academic Awards
Recipients of the first-in-class awards, which recognize those ranked No. 1 in their class, include Andrea N. Aikin, Megan E. Diffenderfer and Andrew T. Hagerman.

Diffenderfer also received the L. LeRoy Highbaugh, Sr. Law Award, presented to students with the highest overall grades in property.

Jaclyn H. Elliott received the Marilyn Meredith Memorial Book Award, presented to the top female law student in the 1L part-time program.

Joshua A.J. Collins received the Professional Responsibility Award, presented to the student with the highest grade in Professional Responsibility.

Carolyn Y. Purcell received the Leon Seidman Memorial Award for the highest grade in Legal Ethics/Professional Responsibility.

Receiving the William Marshall Bullitt Memorial Awards for the most outstanding performance in constitutional law were Annie L. Malka and Ryan D. Nafziger.

Janet A. Lewis won the 2014 KBA Annual Student Writing Competition for her article on “The First Amendment and Social Media: Primary Students’ Constitutional Rights to Freely Speak Outside of the School.”

The Samuel L. Greenebaum Awards for Achievement in Legal Writing went to Daniel C. Braun, Megan E. Diffenderfer, Megan E. Gibson, Carolyn Y. Purcell and Aaron P. Riggs.

Aida Almsalkhi received the Edward M. Post Award, going to a 2L student who demonstrates promise of excellence in litigation.

The International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award went to Corey B. Shiffman.

Sarah D. Reddick earned the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award.

The Kentucky Defense Counsel Award went to Aaron P. Riggs.

The Kentucky District Judges’ Association Award went to Kevin W. Boswell.

Megan Diffenderfer received the ABA-BNA Award for Excellence in Intellectual Property Law.

Finally, the Andrew Young Memorial Award, recognizing a student who excels in writing, went to Philip R. Heleringer.

This year’s Top Clinic Advocates include:
Andrea N. Aiken
Jenna T. Brady
Paige L. Clark
Patrick E. Markey
Jennifer R. Pence
Corey B. Shiffman

Leadership and Achievement Awards
The following students were recognized for their leadership and achievement: Andrea N. Aiken, Joshua A.J. Collins, Christine A. Shannon and J. Ben Shepard received the Robert C. Jayes Memorial Awards for demonstrating academic merit, communication skills and leadership qualities.

Kevin W. Boswell and Leah A. Gravius received the Omicron Delta Kappa Award.

Jennifer R. Pence received the National Association of Women Lawyers Outstanding Law Student Award.

Janet A. Lewis received the Louisville Bar Association Legal Opportunity Scholarship.

Brandeis Inn of Court Members were also named and include:
Sana Abhari            
Kevin W. Boswell
Kellie R. Davis
Leah A. Gravius    
Christopher J. Groeschen    
Hayleigh J. Hurt
Tara Adkins McGuire
K. Shay Owens
Miranda S. Ratcliffe
Sarah D. Reddick 
J. Ben Shepard
Corey B. Shiffman

Brandeis Honor Society members announced include:
Andrea N. Aikin
Paul A. Casi III
Matthew R. Dawson
Emily A. DeVuono    
Leah A. Gravius         
Sarah E. Hackman
Mary Catherine Halloran
Jessica A. Hazelwood
Philip R. Heleringer
Annie L. Malka
Tara Adkins McGuire
Deanna M. Mulhall
J. Ben Shepard
Jordan M. White
Dwight D. Young

Recipients of Public Service Awards and Fellowships include:

The Samuel L. Greenebaum Public Service Award went to Kathryn A. Cross.

The Samuel L. Greenebaum Fellowship went to John Paul Boitnott, Kevin W. Boswell, Meghan C. Burns, and C. Wesley Pagles.

Jennifer R. Pence received the Ellen B. Ewing Fellowship.

Amanda R. Birman received the BarBri Fellows.

Recipients of the IOLTA Fellowships include Carolyn A. Allen, Cheyla C. Bush, Matthew R. Dawson, Tyler A. Larson, Eric T. Proctor, Benjamin D.B. Siegel, and Steven D. Thompson.

The Central High School Partnership Outstanding Students include David D. Cutt and David B. Lackford.

Students who served as Program Coordinators or Academic Fellows in the Brandeis Academic Fellow Program this year include Eric T. Proctor and Sarah D. Reddick (program coordinators), and Rachel A. Ainsworth, Lindsey J. Boyd, Sunnye J. Bush-Sawtelle, David D. Cutt, Kari L. DiCecco, Emily B. Irwin, Emily A. Landherr, Caitlin L. McQueen, Emily E. Meyer, and Priscilla C. Page (academic fellows).