Congratulations Class of '24 and Scholarship/Award Winners!

Congratulations Class of '24 and Scholarship/Award Winners!

2024 grads Sierra Sheard, Marissa Smith, and Shannon-Claire Barnes pose for a photo after commencement

This spring the Philosophy Department is proud to have graduated seven majors and 12 minors. We also conferred 12 undergraduate and graduate Certificates, and awarded four MA degrees in Health Care Ethics.

An enduring bequest from former Professor and A&S Dean Richard Barber enables the Philosophy faculty to honor outstanding members of the graduating class. We have three such awards: the Richard Barber Award for the “most outstanding student of Philosophy,” as reflected principally in their academic achievement; the Richard Campbell Smith Award for the “top student of the department,” as reflected principally in their across-the-board contributions; and the Osborne P. Wiggins, Jr., Book Prize, awarded to the most outstanding graduating student in the Health Care Ethics MA program.

This year, the Barber Award went to Caleb Aridano, the Smith Award went to Sierra Sheard, and the Wiggins Book Prize – Health Problems, by Elizabeth Barnes – was awarded to Dr. Esper Wadih.

In addition to these awards for graduating students, the Philosophy Department awards the Thomas S. Maloney Scholarship to continuing students who are Kentucky-resident Philosophy majors with financial need. Following Dr. Maloney’s wishes for the scholarship that bears his name, the Maloney Fund aims to help these students stay in school and on track to graduation. Our Maloney scholars for 2024 are Scarlett Cowgill, Kaitlin Renaud, and Haven Romero. Unlike the Barber and Smith awards, the Maloney Scholarship is not endowed, which means that its continued existence depends on annual giving. If you would like to support the next crop of Maloney Scholars, please click here or contact the department for information.