Land Acknowledgment

The Department of Comparative Humanities acknowledges that the land we meet on today is the original homeland of the Shawnee, Cherokee, Chickasaw, and Osage nations. We acknowledge the painful history of genocide and forced removal from this territory, and we honor and respect the many diverse Indigenous peoples still connected to this land on which we gather. Our department remains dedicated to the spirit and practice of supporting and fostering learning through the perpetuation, generation, and sharing of inclusive knowledge of diverse communities and cultures.