Previous Chairs

The 10th-oldest medical school in the nation, the University of Louisville School of Medicine was established in 1837. Various mergers and consolidations throughout its history brought about the current incarnation of the school, with the UofL Department of Medicine established in 1908.

These are the clinicians, researchers, educators and pioneers who established the foundation and shaped the future of both the School and Department of Medicine over their collective 185-year history.