Smith named 2014-2015 ISI Honors Fellow; one of 60 nationwide
(May 13, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Sophomore McConnell Scholar Natalie Smith was one of 60 nationwide named as a 2014-2015 Honors Fellows at the Intercollegiate Studies Institute.
Senior McConnell Scholars graduated Saturday; post-grad plans include law school, Teach for America
(May 13, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Eight McConnell Scholars graduated May 10, and their post-graduate plans include law school and Teach for America.
APPLY NOW: Teacher Scholars Program applications now available for KY educators
(May 12, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Applications for the McConnell Center's Teacher Scholars Program are now available for KY educators K-12. The priority consideration deadline is June 13th.
Thomas ('15) spent semester in Morocco studying Arabic and Middle Eastern politics, traveling
(May 6, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Junior McConnell Scholar Joel Thomas spent a semester in Morocco studying Arabic and Middle Eastern politics and traveling throughout the country.
Grout to intern at The Heritage Foundation this summer
(May 12, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Sophomore McConnell Scholar Kevin Grout has been selected to intern at the B. Kenneth Simon Center for Principles and Politics at The Heritage Foundation in Washington, DC.
Smith, Young to intern in Sen. McConnell's DC office
(May 5, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Sophomore McConnell Scholars Natalie Smith and Mary Elizabeth Young will spend six weeks as legislative interns in the Minority Leader's Washington, DC, office.
McConnell Scholars elected, appointed to top student leadership positions
(May 8, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Next year, several McConnell Scholars will serve in some of UofL's top student leadership positions.
McConnell Scholars (’15) headed to People’s Republic of China to study, travel
(May 7, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - The Junior McConnell Scholars will spend a month studying and traveling with UofL professor Dr. Hua in Shanghi, Beijing and Xi’an.
Whitlock interns in KY general assembly
(April 16, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - McConnell Scholar Ben Whitlock completed a three-month-long student internship in Frankfort.
Haque named McConnell Center 'Debate Series Champion'
(April 15, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - McConnell Scholar Arsh Haque wins annual debate series in overtime round.
Perry co-edits book on George H.W. Bush presidency
(April 2, 2014) - Barbara Perry is a senior fellow at the University of Virginia's Miller Center and a non-resident McConnell Center Fellow.
Waters ('14) successfully defends honors thesis
(March 28, 2014) Meghan Waters, of Campbell County, Ky., earned summa cum laude distinction by completing the project.
Imel ('14) to join Alabama's clinical geropsychology doctoral program
McConnell Center to host US Sen. Kelly Ayotte
U.S. Sen. Kelly Ayotte of New Hampshire will speak at the University of Louisville March 17 as a guest of the university’s McConnell Center.
Teachers to help revive Daniel Boone's legacy in social studies curriculum
(Feb. 26, 2014) Professional development opportunity will consider the historical, geographic and cultural legacy of Daniel Boone in the eastern Kentucky region.
Director weighs in on Franklin Opus' presidential survey panel
(February 17, 2014) McConnell Center director Gary Gregg, PhD, serves as a senior fellow at Franklin's Opus.
'AP Saturday' canceled 2/15 due to inclement weather
(Feb. 14, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - For more information, contact Trisha Vaughn, Civic Education Coordinator, at or call (502) 852-8811.
Ft. Thomas Highlands team wins state 'We the People' competition
(Jan. 30, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – High School students competed at the University of Louisville's McConnell Center to earn a bid to the national 'We the People' civics competition.
Five McConnell Scholars advocate for higher education
(Jan. 28, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Students join the university’s inaugural class of 'Cards in Action' and meet with state officials.
Spencer ('09) named a 2014 New Leaders Council Fellow
(Jan. 24, 2014) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Rudy Spencer, of Louisville, Ky., is one of 15 Kentuckians selected for the 2014 New Leaders Council fellowship.