Undergraduate & Graduate Programs

Academic schedule for all undergraduate and graduate programs, including individual dates for the Kent School of Social Work, School of Nursing and the J.B. Speed School of Engineering.

× Information on this page may be changed by the university's response to COVID-19.
× Looking for final exam information? Visit the Office of the Registrar for more details.

2020-2021 Academic Year

Classes start Aug. 17, 2020 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Aug. 21, 2020 (Fri)
Labor Day holiday Sept. 7, 2020 (Mon)
Online instruction days for all classes Sept. 3 – 4, 2020 (Thurs – Fri)
Mid-term Break Oct. 5-6, 2020 (Mon-Tue)
Last day to withdraw Nov. 17, 2020 (Tue)
Presidential election Nov. 3, 2020 (Tues)
Thanksgiving break Nov. 25-29, 2020 (Wed-Sun)
Final two days will be Online instruction for all classes

NOTE: Clinical and Laboratory classes/Research projects may continue in person after Thanksgiving break

Nov. 30 – Dec. 1, 2020 (Mon – Tues)
Last day of classes Dec. 1, 2020 (Tues)
Reading day Dec. 2, 2020 (Wed)
Final exams

NOTE: Final Assessments and Final Exams will be conducted online

Dec. 3-9, 2020 (Thurs-Wed)
Degree Date Dec. 11, 2020 (Fri)
Virtual Commencement Dec. 12, 2020 (Sat)
Classes start Aug. 17, 2020 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Aug. 19, 2020 (Wed)
Labor Day holiday Sept. 7, 2020 (Mon)
Online instruction days for all classes Sept. 3 – 4, 2020 (Thurs – Fri)
Last day to withdraw Sep. 15, 2020 (Tue)
Mid-term Break Oct. 5-6, 2020 (Mon-Tue)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Oct. 7, 2020 (Wed)
Virtual Commencement/Degree Date Dec. 12, 2020 (Sat)
Classes start Oct. 8, 2020 (Thu)
Last day to drop/add Oct. 12, 2020 (Mon)
Presidential Election Nov. 3, 2020 (Tue)
Last day to withdraw Nov. 17, 2020 (Tue)
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 25-Nov. 29, 2020 (Wed-Sun)
Final two days will be Online instruction for all classes

NOTE: Clinical and Laboratory classes/Research projects may continue in person after Thanksgiving break

Nov. 30 – Dec. 1, 2020 (Mon – Tues)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed)

NOTE: Final Assessments and Final Exams will be conducted online

Dec. 1, 2020 (Tue)
Virtual Commencement/Degree Date Dec. 12, 2020 (Sat)
Classes start Dec. 14, 2020 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Dec. 15, 2020 (Tues)
Last day to withdraw Dec. 24, 2020 (Thurs)
Holiday (No classes) Dec. 25, 2020 (Fri)
Last day of classes Jan. 4, 2021 (Mon)
Final Exam (if needed)

NOTE: Final Assessments and Final Exams will be conducted online

Jan. 5, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start Dec. 14, 2020 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Dec. 15, 2020 (Tues)
Last day to withdraw Dec. 24, 2020 (Thurs)
Holiday (No classes) Dec. 25, 2020 (Fri)
Last day of classes Jan. 4, 2021 (Mon)
Final Exam (if needed)

NOTE: Final Assessments and Final Exams will be conducted online

Jan. 5, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start Jan. 11, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Jan. 15, 2021 (Fri)
Martin Luther King holiday Jan. 18, 2021 (Mon)
Spring Break March 4-5, 2021 (Thur-Fri)
Last day to withdraw March 12, 2021 (Fri)
Last day of classes Apr. 21, 2021 (Wed)
Reading day Apr. 22, 2021 (Thurs)
Final exams Apr. 23-April 29, 2021 (Fri-Thurs)
Commencement/degree date May 8, 2021 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative.

Classes start Jan. 11, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Jan. 13, 2021 (Wed)
Martin Luther King holiday Jan. 18, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw Feb. 9, 2021 (Tue)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Mar. 1, 2021 (Mon)
Commencement/degree date May 8, 2021 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative.

Classes start Mar. 2, 2021 (Tue)
Spring Break Mar. 4-5, 2021 (Thur-Fri)
Last day to drop/add Mar. 8, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw Apr. 1, 2021 (Thur)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Apr. 21, 2021 (Wed)
Commencement/degree date May 8, 2021 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative.

2021 Academic Summer Calendar

Classes start May 10, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add May 11, 2021 (Tues)
Last day to withdraw May 20, 2021 (Thurs)
Last day of classes May 28, 2021 (Fri)
Degree date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start June 1, 2021 (Tues)
Last day to drop/add June 3, 2021 (Thurs)
Last day to withdraw June 21, 2021 (Mon)
Independence Day holiday July 5, 2021 (Mon)
Last day of classes July 6, 2021 (Tues)
Degree date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start June 1, 2021 (Tues)
Last day to drop/add June 4, 2021 (Fri)
Independence Day Holiday July 5, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw July 14, 2021 (Wed)
Last day of classes/degree date Aug 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start July 7, 2021 (Wed)
Last day to drop/add July 9, 2021 (Fri)
Last day to withdraw July 28, 2021 (Wed)
Last day of classes/degree date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start May 17, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add May 20, 2021 (Thurs)
Memorial Day holiday May 31, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw June 25, 2021 (Fri)
Independence Day holiday July 5, 2021 (Mon)
Last day of classes July 23, 2020 (Fri)
Final exam period July 26-29, 2021 (Mon - Thurs)
Degree date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start May 10, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add May 13, 2021 (Thurs)
Memorial Day holiday May 31, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw June 23, 2021 (Wed)
Independence Day holiday July 5, 2021 (Mon)
Last day of classes July 24, 2021 (Sat)
Degree date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)
Classes start May 19, 2021 (Wed)
Last day to drop/add May 24, 2021 (Mon)
Memorial Day holiday May 31, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw June 29, 2021 (Tues)
Independence Day holiday July 5, 2021 (Mon)
Last day of classes July 27, 2021 (Tues)
Degree Date Aug. 10, 2021 (Tues)

2021-2022 Academic Year

Classes start Aug. 23, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Aug. 27, 2021 (Fri)
Labor Day holiday Sept. 6, 2021 (Mon)
Mid-term Break Oct. 4-5, 2021 (Mon-Tue)
Last day to withdraw Oct. 22, 2021 (Fri)
Thanksgiving break Nov. 24-28, 2021 (Wed-Sun)
Last day of classes Dec. 6, 2021 (Mon)
Reading day Dec. 7, 2021 (Tue)
Final exams Dec. 8-14, 2021 (Wed-Tue)
Degree Date Dec. 17, 2021 (Fri)
Commencement Dec. 17*, 2021 (Fri)

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

Classes start Aug. 23, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Aug. 25, 2021 (Wed)
Labor Day holiday Sept. 6, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw Sep. 21, 2021 (Tue)
Mid-term Break Oct. 4-5, 2021 (Mon-Tue)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Oct. 13, 2021 (Wed)
Commencement/Degree Date Dec. 17, 2021 (Fri)*

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

Classes start Oct. 14, 2021 (Thu)
Last day to drop/add Oct. 18, 2021 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw Nov. 11, 2021 (Thu)
Thanksgiving Break Nov. 24-Nov. 28, 2021 (Wed-Sun)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Dec. 6, 2021 (Mon)
Commencement/Degree Date Dec. 17, 2021 (Fri)*

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

Classes start Dec. 15, 2021 (Wed)
Last day to drop/add Dec. 16, 2021 (Thurs)
Last day to withdraw Dec. 24, 2021 (Fri)
Last day of classes Jan. 4, 2022 (Tues)
Final Exam (if needed) Jan. 5, 2022 (Wed)
Classes start Dec. 15, 2021 (Wed)
Last day to drop/add Dec. 16, 2021 (Thurs)
Last day to withdraw Dec. 24, 2021 (Fri)
Last day of classes Jan. 4, 2022 (Tues)
Final Exam (if needed) Jan. 5, 2022 (Wed)
Classes start Jan. 10, 2022 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Jan. 14, 2022 (Fri)
Martin Luther King holiday Jan. 17, 2022 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw March 9, 2022 (Wed)
Spring Break March 14-20, 2022 (Mon-Sun)
Last day of classes Apr. 25, 2022 (Mon)
Reading day Apr. 26, 2022 (Tues)
Final exams Apr. 27-May 3, 2022 (Wed-Tues)
Commencement/degree date May 14, 2022 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

Classes start Jan. 10, 2022 (Mon)
Last day to drop/add Jan. 12, 2022 (Wed)
Martin Luther King holiday Jan. 17, 2022 (Mon)
Last day to withdraw Feb. 8, 2022 (Tue)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Feb. 28, 2022 (Mon)
Commencement/degree date May 14, 2022 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

Classes start Mar. 1, 2022 (Tue)
Last day to drop/add Mar. 3, 2022 (Thu)
Spring Break Mar. 14-20, 2022 (Mon-Sun)
Last day to withdraw Apr. 5, 2022 (Tue)
Last day of classes/Final Exam (if needed) Apr. 25, 2022 (Mon)
Commencement/degree date May 14, 2022 (Sat)*

*Commencement date is tentative subject to venue availability

University of Louisville

2301 S. 3rd St.

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292