Congratulations to the winners of 2017 Pirtle-Washer competition

Second- and third-year law Brandeis Law students showcased their oral advocacy skills in front of members of the bench and bar at the 2017 Pirtle-Washer Oral Advocacy Competition finals, held Sept. 15 at the law school's Allen Courtroom.

This year, participants argued in front of Kentucky Attorney General Andy Beshear and Kentucky Court of Appeals Judges Christopher Shea Nickell and Robert G. Johnson.

The competition was founded in the early 1960s and is named after Henry Pirtle and Benjamin F. Washer. Pirtle was the first dean of the law school from 1846 to 1873. Washer was dean of the Jefferson School of Law for 20 years prior to its merger with the university.

Participation in the Pirtle-Washer competition provides a foundation for representing the Brandeis School of Law in national competitions.

The winners for this year's competition:

  • Champion: Rick Whetsone
  • Runner-Up: Chase Cunningham
  • Finalists: Irina Strelkova and David Woolums
The judges with students Chase Cunningham and Irina Strelkova.
The judges with students Chase Cunningham and Rick Whetstone.

The judges with students Rick Whetstone and David Woolums.