Pharmacology and Toxicology students and faculty receive awards at Ohio Valley Society of Toxicology

Pharmacology and Toxicology students and faculty receive awards at Annual Meeting of the Ohio Valley Society of Toxicology in Indianapolis hosted by Eli Lilly Company

Graduate Students (Platform Awards)

First Place (Givaudan Award)- Cierra Sharp 

The Effects of Age and Cancer In A Clinically-Relevant Mouse Model Of Cisplatin-Induced Kidney Injury.  Mentor Dr. Leah Siskind

Second Place- Lauren Poole 

Acute-on-chronic alcohol exposure using the “NIAAA Model” concomitantly damages the liver and lung.  Mentor Dr. Gavin Arteel


Graduate Students (Poster Awards)

First Place- Laila Al-Eryani

Induction of Cell Cycle Pathways In Human Keratinocytes At Early Stages Of Chronic Exposure To Low Arsenite.  Mentor Dr. Christopher States

Second Place- Aaron Neely 

The Bacterial Quorum Sensing Molecule N-(3-Oxo-Acyl Homoserine Lactone Inhibits Tumor Growth Independent of Bcl-2 Proteins.  Mentor Dr. Chi Li

Third Place-Qian Lin 

Fibroblast Growth Factor 1 Ameliorates Diabetic Nephropathy Through an Anti-inflammatory Mechanism.  Mentor Dr. Yi Tan


Postdoctoral Students (Platform Awards)

First Place- Xiaozhen Dai

Elevating CXCR7 improves angiogenic function of EPCs via Akt/GSK-3beta/Fyn-mediated Nrf2 activation in diabetic limb ischemia. Mentor Dr. Yi Tan

Second Place-Wesley Abplanalp 

Benzene Exposure is Associated with Insulin Resistance in Humans and Mice.  Mentor Dr. Timothy O’Toole