Message from the Chair


The year of SARS-CoV-2!   We had to adapt like everyone else.  Teaching faculty quickly pivoted to online instruction and research activity was restored to near-normal levels following a one month shutdown in Spring 2020.  Despite the distractions Department received new NIH funding in excess of $4M and graduated a near record 9 PhD students.   Our first-ever T32 program in “Inflammation and Pathogenesis”, which supports 4 trainees annually, entered its third year with 3 trainees graduating in 2020.  We also welcomed Dr. James Collins, a new tenure-track Assistant Professor who studies enteric microbes and the environmental factors that affect their biology.

Continue Reading

Items of Interest

Graduate Programs: M.S., Ph.D.
Final Application Deadline: March 1

Full consideration Deadline: January 15

Center for Functional Microbiomics, Inflammation and Pathogenicity

Center for Predictive Medicine 


Open Positions


Faculty Highlights

Dr. Carolyn Roberson receives Gender Equity Award 

Dr. Carolyn Roberson was awarded the Gender Equity Award by the American Medical Women's Association. The Gender Equity Award honors outstanding contributions of medical school faculty who promote a gender-equal environment in the education and training of physicians. Congratulations Dr. Roberson! 

Dr. Carolyn Casella receives Golden Apple Award

Dr. Carolyn Casella was selected by School of Medicine Class of 2022 to receive the Golden Apple Award for the 2019-2020 school year.  The Golden Apple Award is given to faculty who demonstrate outstanding teamwork, professional responsibility, and consideration of medical students. Congratulations Dr. Casella! 

More Faculty Highlights

Student Highlights

M&I Graduate Students Present at American Society for Microbiology Spring 2021 Research Meeting

The M&I Department was well represented at the KY/TN Branch of the American Society for Microbiology Spring 2021 Research Meeting on April 17. Kelley Cooper (Bagaitkar Lab), Trey Landers (Sokoloski Lab), Autumn LaPointe (Sokoloski Lab), Sarah Price (Lawrenz Lab), Carlos Rodriguez (Bagaitkar Lab), and Claire Westcott (Sokoloski Lab) were among 21 participants invited to give oral presentations on their research projects. Congratulations to Sarah, Autumn, and Carlos for receiving “Top Presentation Awards” at the meeting!

More Student Highlights

Departmental Events

Microbiology & Immunology Seminar Series

Microbiology & Immunology Seminar Series

Thursdays at 12:00 p.m.* 
Due to COVID-19, the Seminar Series is being held virtually until further notice. 
*unless otherwise indicated