Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee in the Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences (PBS) consists of faculty, staff, graduate students, and undergraduates from our department. Per departmental by-laws, the purpose of the committee is to:

“Foster the development of strategies, policies, and programs that will enhance the educational and professional experience of minority faculty, staff, and students in the department.”

2023-2024 Committee

DEI Committee Chairs: 

  • Yara Mekawi, PhD
  • Konrad Bresin, PhD

2023-2024 Sub-Committees

  1. Committee Guidelines Development
  2. Incentivization of DEI Work for Faculty
  3. Assessment and Reports
  4. Graduate Students (Students Only)
  5. BIPOC Grad Student Belonging, Recruitment, & Retention
  6. Inclusive Physical Space
  7. Outreach & Advocacy 
  8. Management of Anonymous Reports (Faculty Only)

    2023-24 Meeting Schedule

    If you would like to be added to the DEI committee roster to receive meeting invite links and updates, please contact Yara Mekawi (yara.mekawi@louisville.edu).

    We want to hear from you!

    The Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences (PBS) is committed to addressing societal injustices and systemic racism. To achieve that goal, we believe we need to hear from as many voices as possible. We invite you to share your thoughts on what we can do to advance diversity, equity and inclusion within our department. Recognizing that this work will be ongoing, we welcome suggestions for concrete actions that are big and small, and that we may be able to implement immediately as well as systematically throughout the department. 

    Feedback is anonymous.Responses will be reviewed by members of the PBS Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee.

    Provide Feedback