Performance Criteria and Policy Committee

Term: The term of office is three years.  Members may not serve on other standing committees (excluding Faculty Forum).  Members of this committee who have served two full consecutive terms must wait an additional two full terms before being eligible to serve again.

Membership: This Committee consists of eight elected Executive Faculty.

Responsibilities: The Committee develops, forwards for approval, and when approved, publishes unit guidelines (School of Medicine Policies for Annual Reviews and Salary Increases Based Upon Performance) that are the minimum guidelines for the preparation of departmental procedures and criteria to review the academic performance of faculty. The Committee is responsible for reviewing and approving the criteria and procedures for awarding performance-based salary increases proposed by each department. It shall ensure that the procedures are clearly written; that they utilize objective, as well as appropriate subjective criteria; and that they follow the minimum guidelines established by the The Redbook, Faculty Senate, and the School of Medicine. The Committee is responsible for working with the Dean and other administrative officers to hear appeals of annual reviews and for issues regarding gross inequities in salary as required by Redbook Sec. 4.2.1. Recommendations from the hearing will be forwarded to the Dean of the School of Medicine. This appeals process shall be distinct from the grievance process (Redbook Art. 4.4) d. Upon the request of the Executive Faculty, the Faculty Forum, the Dean, or by petition of 25 Executive Members, the Committee reviews these Bylaws and Rules for possible changes and proposes recommendations. Such recommendations shall be forwarded to the Faculty Forum for its recommendation and then, if approved, to the Executive Faculty for action, according to the procedures outlined in Art. IX.

Meeting Dates: This committee meets on an "as needed" basis.  Time commitment:  Three to four meetings, on average, per year with meetings lasting approximately 1 hour.  Allow an additional one to two hours for preparation.

Performance Criteria and Policy Committee Members

Jessica Kline, MDOB/GYN & Women's Health2020-23
Donghoon Chung, PhDMicrobiology2020-23
Megan Blackburn, PhDRadiation Oncology2021-24
Michael Egger, MDSurgery2020-23
Martin Huecker, MDEmergency Medicine2020-23
Kerry McGowan, MDPediatrics2021-24
Alan Smith, MDOtolaryngology2021-24
Roland Valdes, PhD**Pathology2021-24

J Calvin Kouokam, PhD - Faculty Forum Representative for RPCC (Secretary for Faculty Forum)

**Dean-appointed member