Match Day another huge success for UofL internal medicine residency programs

St. Patrick's Day also made for a festive atmosphere as UofL medical students learned of their next steps in their medical training
Match Day another huge success for UofL internal medicine residency programs

Match Day 2023 successful once more for the UofL internal medicine training programs

It was party time on March 17, and not just for St. Patrick's Day.

The Match Day soirée returned for fourth-year medical students at the University of Louisville, and it was a successful day for the UofL Internal Medicine Residency and Combined Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Residency programs.

"I am absolutely thrilled by the results of this year's match," Jennifer Olges, M.D., director of the UofL Internal Medicine Residency Program said. "This intern class is made up of some of the best and brightest rising internal medicine physicians. We are excited that they are joining the University of Louisville, and we can’t wait to start working with them."

Laura Workman, M.D., director of the Combined Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program, added, "Med-Peds is so excited to welcome our new intern class. They are an outstanding group and we look forward to working with them over the next four years!"

The highlight of Match Day is when prospective medical residents open their envelopes from the National Residency Match Program to find where they had been matched for their future training as residents.

Conducted annually by the NRMP, The Match uses a computerized algorithm designed to the best results by aligning the preferences of applicants with the preferences of residency programs. The results are used to fill thousands of training positions available in the United States.

"I want to extend a sincere thank you to all of the faculty, staff, and residents who helped us recruit this talented class," Olges said.

Our incoming class for 2023 includes:

Categorical Residents

  • Thomas Beyerle - University of Louisville
  • Maggie Bridges - University of Mississippi
  • Micaela Bush - Marian University
  • Chinanu Chidi - New Mexico State University
  • Emily Converse - Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Allison Franz - University of Toledo
  • Alexander Gavsyuk - University of Kentucky
  • Monica Gobrial - Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Kaitlin Grindlay - St. George's University
  • Mikayla Hennen - Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Fares Kasem - West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Blake Kelley - East Tennessee State University
  • Will King - University of Louisville
  • Angela Kurian - New Mexico State University
  • James Lemaster - University of Louisville
  • Kush Patel - Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Sheel Patel - Marian University
  • Shyam Patel - University of Illinois
  • Austin Permann - University of North Texas
  • Lauren Phillips - University of Louisville
  • Humzah Qazi - University of Louisville
  • Ethan Steele - Liberty University
  • Aman Sunderji - West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Katie Walka - University of Illinois-Rockford


Preliminary Residents

  • Emily Altman - University of Kentucky
  • Sophia Antimisiaris - University of Pikeville
  • Killian Coyne - West Virginia
  • Kelsey Chen - Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Wilfred Furtado - University of Louisville
  • Cameron Garner - University of Louisville
  • Farah Guirguis Mekhail - University of Kentucky
  • Hofsa Hussain - Northeast Ohio Medical University
  • Sangeeth John - University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Luke Johnson - University of Louisville
  • Paul Johnson - University of Louisville
  • Nicholas Kemper - University of Louisville
  • Vaheed Mohammadzadeh - Tehran University
  • Varun Rameswara - Indiana University
  • Alex Upegui - University of Maryland
  • Jessica Sparks - University of Louisville


Combined Med-Peds Residents

  • Emily Brezler - West Virginia University
  • Baillie Cunningham - University of Mississippi
  • Justin Davidson - University of South Carolina
  • Heather Krome - Mercer University
  • Brigette Schuman - University of Cincinnati