U of L contingent cleans up at ACP Awards

Winners move on to present at national conference in Orlando; Urbach awarded association's highest honor
U of L contingent cleans up at ACP Awards

University of Louisville PGY-3 Nirman Bhatia, M.D., with his first-place poster at the 2013 Kentucky Chapter of American College of Physicians annual meeting.

As has become an annual custom, medical students and residents from the University of Louisville collected several awards at the Kentucky Chapter of American College of Physicians annual meeting on Sept. 11, 2013 at the Hyatt Regency in Louisville.

"Once again, I am very proud of our residents and students for their performance at our annual Kentucky Chapter ACP Associates' poster presentations," Barbara Casper, M.D., FACP, Director of the U of L Internal Medicine Residency Program said. "It is always wonderful to see the accomplishments of our trainees and we are very fortunate to have two strong academic institutions that train superb internists. Our colleagues from the University of Kentucky had a very strong showing and I am confident the patients in our state will benefit from the strength of both of our institutions."

"The ACP award winners are great examples of the tremendous talent available at U of L," Jesse Roman, M.D., Chairman of the University of Louisville Department of Medicine said. "Our students, residents, and faculty received awards for clinical cases, research, and patient care. It is an honor to work with this talented and hard-working bunch."

Individual award winners include:

  • Justin Choi (Most Outstanding Student)

  • Ali Smith, D.O. (Most Outstanding PGY-2 Resident)

  • Kelly McCants, M.D. (Chosen by the Residents as the Faculty they Would Most Like to Emulate)

Additionally, U of L faculty member Stuart Urbach, M.D., was honored with the Kentucky ACP Laureate Award, given to "those who are long-standing and loyal supporters of the College, who have rendered distinguished service to their chapters and community, and have upheld the high ideals and professional standards for which the College is known."

Members of the U of L contingent also placed in the following categories:

  • Resident Clinical Vignette

1st Place: Anub George John - Albuterol: A Double-Edged Sword
3rd Place: Udit Chaddha - Paralyzed  by your Immunity! It's a case of hypokalemic quadriparesis due to Sjögren's Syndrome.


  • Resident Research

1st Place: Nirman Bhatia - Intrapulmonary Shunt: A Missing Link in the Etiology of Cryptogenic Ischemic Stroke and Transient Ischemic Attack
2nd Place: Nirman Bhatia - Determination of the Optimum Number of Cardiac Cycles to Differentiate Intrapulmonary Shunt and Patent Foramen Ovale by Saline Contrast Two- and Three-Dimensional Echocardiography
3rd Place: Geetika Bhatt - Factors Affecting Gastric Emptying study - Evaluating the Potential to Reduce the Study


  • Student Clinical Vignette

1st Place: Farah Nastry - Ehrlichia chaffeenis induced Rhabdomyolysis in 89 year old male with Persistent Fever


  • Student Research

1st Place: Whitney Ward - Minichromosome Maintenance Protein 3 is Induced in Renal Tubules in Diabetic Mice
2nd Place: Rumeal Whaley - Role of Histone Deacetylase Inhibitors In Attenuation of Pulmonary Vascular Remodeling

The winners in each category will receive support to present their posters at the national ACP's Internal Medicine 2014 conference April 10-12, 2014 in Orlando, Fla.