Political Science Student Award Winners

Scholarship Information

Learn how to apply for scholarships and awards here.

National Award Winners 

Fulbright Scholars

The Fulbright Program, including the Fulbright-Hays Program, is a program of competitive, merit-based grants for international educational exchange for students, scholars, teachers, professionals, scientists and artists, founded by United States Senator J. William Fulbright in 1946. Under the Fulbright Program, competitively selected U.S. citizens may become eligible for scholarships to study, conduct research, or exercise their talents abroad; and citizens of other countries may qualify to do the same in the United States. The program was established to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and other countries through the exchange of persons, knowledge, and skills.


Boren Scholarships and Fellowships provide unique funding opportunities for U.S. undergraduate and graduate students to study less commonly taught languages in world regions critical to U.S. interests, and underrepresented in study abroad, including Africa, Asia, Central and Eastern Europe, Eurasia, Latin America, and the Middle East.

The Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI), now in its 31st year, is an annual, intensive five-week program held at Duke University. It is designed to introduce to the world of doctoral study in political science those undergraduate students from under-represented racial and ethnic groups or those interested in broadening participation in political science and pursuing scholarship on issues affecting under-represented groups. Participants in the RBSI are drawn from a competitive national applicant pool.


Mary Churchill Humphrey endowed the University of Louisville Centenary Memorial Scholarship in the late 1940s. This generous scholarship has enabled graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences to pursue advanced study in the United Kingdom for more than fifty years.


Truman Scholar

The Truman Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 as the living memorial to President Truman and the Presidential Memorial to Public Service. The Foundation’s mission is premised on the belief that a better future relies on attracting to public service the commitment and sound judgment of bright, outstanding Americans. In fact, it was this belief that led President Truman, when approached by a bipartisan group of admirers near the end of his life, to encourage Congress to create a living memorial devoted to this purpose rather than a bricks and mortar monument. For forty years, the Truman Foundation has fulfilled that mission: inspiring and supporting Americans from diverse backgrounds and from across the United States to public service.


Departmental Award Winners

Jean & Eleanor O'Sullivan Award

The fund was established in 1977 by Professor James L. O'Sullivan in memory of his first wife Eleanor.  In 2007 the award was renamed to honor both Eleanor, and Jean O'Sullivan, Professor O'Sullivan's second wife.  He requested the recipient of the award be a "political science major in the senior college who has expressed an interest in studying law or political science and who is judged to be promising."


In 1974 funds "...were solicited through the community... [to] be used by the Political Science Department to make awards in the name of Louis C. Kesselman." The Kesselman Award is given annually to a top senior and junior student within the Department of Political Science.


In 1985 the Department of Political Science established an award to honor the memory of Erin Rouse. The award recognizes students who have demonstrated outstanding service to the university and the community.


Kathleen Maddox Fritsch Scholarship Fund

The fund was established in 1987 by the family members and friends of Kathleen Fritsch.  Scholarship awards are given annually to a student or students enrolled in the Paralegal Studies Program based on demonstrated need and academic achievement.  The director of the Paralegal Studies Program and his/her advisory board select the recipients.


This fund was established by Kathryne S. Esselburn in 2005 as a scholarship for undergraduate Political Science majors seeking a bachelor's degree at the University of Louisville.  The scholarship is awarded based on academic merit and financial need to promising students within the Political Science Department.  Once selected, students may continue to receive the scholarship until graduation so long as the student makes satisfactory academic progress towards a Political Science degree. The first scholarships were awarded in April, 2008.