Dr. Franklin Awarded the ACOG Award for Outstanding District Service (ODS)

Congratulations to Dr. Tanya Franklin on being chosen to receive The American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) Award for Outstanding District Service (ODS).  Dr. Franklin, was recognized, along with the other ODS Award recipients, during the Presidential Inauguration and Convocation held at the 2015 Annual Clinical and Scientific Meeting in San Francisco, California on Wednesday May 6, 2015.

Dr. Franklin, assistant professor at the University of Louisville School of Medicine, graduated from that school with a joint degree in medicine and a master’s in public health with a clinical investigation emphasis.

In July 2011, she received grant funding to establish the Ryan Residency Training Program in Family Planning. Dr. Franklin has received the Outstanding Educator Award for her accomplishments in developing a new curriculum, a new clinical service, and a regional patient referral site.

As District V Junior Fellow vice-chair, chair, and immediate past chair from 2011-2014, she revitalized Junior Fellow involvement and activity. She also organized the first Legislative Day in Kentucky this year, helping physicians advocate and build relationships with state legislators.