Top social studies teachers accepted to center’s professional development series

(Sept. 22, 2016) LOUISVILLE, Ky.— Twenty-three Kentucky social studies teachers will participate in the McConnell Center’s Teacher Scholars Program.
Top social studies teachers accepted to center’s professional development series

Twenty-three Kentucky social studies teachers, grades K-12, have been accepted to participate in the McConnell Center’s yearlong lecture and seminar series on "Citizenship & Statesmanship." Spring programming will consider the U.S. presidency.

Teachers can earn more than 30 hours of professional development credit through the series and will participate in a summer immersion trip in Summer 2017.

The McConnell Center's annual Teacher Scholars Program (TSP) is a signature professional development opportunity for teachers to work directly with and learn from national experts on American history, government and leadership.

Topics for TSP 2016-17 include the “American Founding: Alexander Hamilton v. John Adams” (#TeamHamilton vs. #TeamAdams), “The American Soldier in Vietnam” and “Shakespeare & Politics: Leadership Lessons from the Bard.”

Participating teachers will receive free books and other resources, study with a nationally-recognized expert each month, take part in a culminating in-depth intellectual and travel experience and be invited to bring students to McConnell Center programming.

2016-2017 Teacher Scholars Program participants:

  • Steven Bedingfield, Madison Central High
  • Edward “Danny” Blaser, St. Xaiver
  • Kendrick Bryan, LaRue County High
  • Angela Burton, West Jessamine Middle
  • Annabeth Edens, Royal Spring Middle
  • Jennifer Faith, Eastside Middle
  • Jeff Frazier, Sacred Heart
  • Sarah Gilvin, West Jessamine High
  • Doug Henry, Bullit Lick Middle
  • Kate Janke, Highlands Latin
  • Mary “Bridget” Kaiser, St. Henry District High
  • Laureen Laumeyer, Crossroads Elementary
  • Cara Lawson, Lloyd Memorial High
  • Derrick Lindow, Daviess County Middle
  • Tara Long, Mt. Washington Middle
  • Justin Mitchell, Franklin-Simpson Middle
  • Jessica Ruddy, Martha Layne Collins High
  • Janet Sivis-O’Connell, West Jessamine High
  • Emily Slater, Saint Agnes Middle
  • David Stigall, Conner Middle School
  • Deborah Strubler, Payneville Elementary
  • Jenny Tompkins, Beechwood High
  • Rachael Yaden, Lincoln County Middle