Moot court team heads to Fla. for regional competition

(Dec. 1, 2011) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Teams consider fourth amendment and protected speech cases.
Moot court team heads to Fla. for regional competition

Three teams representing the University of Louisville's McConnell Center will compete at the South Atlantic Regional Moot Court Tournament scheduled Dec. 2-3 at the University of Central Florida.

The six McConnell Scholars include senior Ben Shepard (Oldham County); juniors Tyler Bosley (Kenton County), Meagan Floyd (Jefferson County) and Ben Weyman (Campbell County); sophomore Melissa Moore (Jefferson County); and freshman Arsh Haque (Hardin County).

Competitors' oral arguments consider fictitious incidents and seek to determine whether the federal government violated the Fourth Amendment by requiring an Internet Service Provider to turn over content of a subscriber's chat room dialogue and whether the facilitation of chat room in which conversations allegedly threatening the president occurred was protected by the First Amendment.

The McConnell Scholars Program's undergraduate moot court team is coached by McConnell Scholar alumnus Neil Salyer (Class of 2001, Magoffin County), head of the Legal Studies Department at Brown Mackie College - Louisville.