Moot court set for regional competition

(Nov. 16, 2010) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Six McConnell Scholars to argue commerce clause, same sex marriage at the University of Tampa
Moot court set for regional competition

Coach Neil Salyer and a panel of guest judges

Under the direction of McConnell Scholar alumnus Neil Salyer (Class of 2001, Magoffin County), three McConnell Scholar teams will compete Nov. 19-20, 2010, in the Southeast Regional Moot Court Competition. The event will be held at the University of Tampa and is one of eight regional competitions under the American Collegiate Moot Court Association.

The McConnell Scholar Moot Court teams include:

Andrew Carroll and Ben Shepard

Tyler Bosley and Meagan Floyd

Ben Weyman and Melissa Moore

Through simulated appellate arguments, the teams will argue a fictional case before panels of judges on the possible errors made during trial court proceedings. Their oral arguments will consider the issues of whether the U.S. government exceeded its constitutional powers under the Commerce Clause in enacting the Affordable Health Care Act and whether the Fourteenth Amendment forbids states to refuse to legally recognize the validity of marriages involving persons of the same sex.

Three McConnell Scholars made the list of top 10 orators at the 2009 ACMA Midwest Regional Tournament at the College of Wooster. Kirk Laughlin (Class of 2010, Oldham County) was the Top Orator, while Andrew Carroll (Class of 2011, Kenton County) and Katlin Rust (Class of 2011, Kenton County) finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

Pictures of the 2010 McConnell Scholar Moot Court Team