A&S Faculty Assembly Minutes March 13, 2009

<!-- /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"Cambria Math"; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:1; mso-generic-font-family:roman; mso-font-format:other; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:0 0 0 0 0 0;} @font-face {font-family:Tahoma; panose-1:2 11 6 4 3 5 4 4 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:swiss; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:1627400839 -2147483648 8 0 66047 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} p.MsoTitle, li.MsoTitle, div.MsoTitle {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; text-align:center; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:14.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:12.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman"; font-weight:bold;} p.MsoDocumentMap, li.MsoDocumentMap, div.MsoDocumentMap {mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-link:"Document Map Char"; margin:0in; margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:8.0pt; font-family:"Tahoma","sans-serif"; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times New Roman";} span.DocumentMapChar {mso-style-name:"Document Map Char"; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-locked:yes; mso-style-link:"Document Map"; mso-ansi-font-size:8.0pt; mso-bidi-font-size:8.0pt; font-family:"Tahoma","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Tahoma; mso-hansi-font-family:Tahoma; mso-bidi-font-family:Tahoma;} span.SpellE {mso-style-name:""; mso-spl-e:yes;} @page Section1 {size:8.5in 11.0in; margin:.9in 1.25in .6in 1.25in; mso-header-margin:.5in; mso-footer-margin:.5in; mso-paper-source:0;} div.Section1 {page:Section1;} -->

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Assembly

March 13, 2009


Registering Attendance:



R. Buchanan

Classical & Modern Lang:

S. Becker, R. Buchanan, W. Cunningham, M. Dalle,


G. Hutcheson, R. Luginbill, M. Makris


J. Ferre


T. Byers, J. Dietrich, S. Henke, A.E. Willey, E. Wise


C. Hanchette, C. Leuthart, J. McCarty, K. Mountain,


A. Sabhlok, H. Zhang


A. Allen, N. Polzer, M. Stenger


T. Riedel, D. Wildstrom


D. Owen


S. Meeks


J. Beggan, J. Busch, C. Negrey

Theatre Arts:

R. Vandenbroucke

Urban & Public Affairs:

S. Bourassa, D. Simpson, S. Zhang

Womens & Gender St.:

K. Story, N. Theriot

A & S Student Council:

J. Bender


Professor Byers, Chair, called the Assembly to order.


The minutes of the Assembly of February 13, 2009, were approved as distributed.


The Chair recognized Professor Hanchette, who moved, seconded by the Curriculum Committee, the approval of the graduate certificate in Real Estate Development in the Department of Urban and Public Affairs.


Hearing no call for discussion, the Chair put the question on the motion to approve.

The motion carried.


The Chair recognized Professor Busch, who moved, seconded by the Planning and Budget Committee, the approval of the proposal for a Center for Real Estate Studies.


Discussion included Professors Busch, Theriot, Stenger, Bourassa, and Wise.


Hearing no call for further discussion, the Chair put the question on the motion to approve.

The motion carried.


There being no further business, a motion was made and seconded to adjourn and the meeting was adjourned.