A&S Faculty Assembly April 18 2008

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Assembly Meeting

April 18, 2008

Registering Attendance:

Anthropology S. Markowitz

C. Corbitt, R. Fell, W. Pearson


R. Buchanan, J. Richardson

Classical & Modern Lang

W. Cunningham, M. Dalle, J. Greene, G. Hutcheson, A. Leidner, M. Makris, A. Mastri, W. Pfeffer, R. Roebuck, C. Sullivan, L. Wagner


L. Della, S. Esrock, J. Ferre, A. Futrell, J. Gregg, G. Leichty


D. Anderson, M. Biberman, B. Boehm, K. Chandler, G. Cross, J. Dietrich, A. Golding, S. Griffin, P. Griner, K. Hadley, D. Hall, S.A. Henke, K. Kopelson, C. Mattingly, A. Powell, S. Ryan, T. Yohannes

Fine Arts

D. Lai

Geography/Geosciences C. Hanchette, C. Leuthart, W. Song

A. Allen, B. Beattie,Y. Ma, T. Mackey, J. McLeod, R. Njoku


A. Allen, P. Beattie, B. Hardman, P. Pranke, T. Soldat-Jaffe, M. Stenger, E. Wise


B. Bradley, C. Hu, L. Larson, B. Li, J. Li, T. Riedel, P. Sahoo, D. Swanson

Pan-African Studies J.B. Hudson, R. Jones, T. Rajack-Talley
Philosophy R. Kimball, A. Kolers, D. Masolo, D. Owen, N. Potter, O. Wiggins
Physics D. Brown, W. Hoston, J. Kielkopf
Political Science

J. Bunck, A. Caldwell, D. Clayton, J. Gainous, S. Hua, A. Martens, S. Matarese, R. Payne, S. Wallace, C. Ziegler

Psychological and Brain Sciences B. Burns, P. DeMarco, S. Meeks

J. Beggan, J. Busch, A. Furr, P. Gagne, J. Rieger

Theatre Arts N. Burton , R. Frye, L. Thomas
Urban and Public Affairs L. Bright
Women’s & Gender Studies

K. Christopher, A. Harris, D. Heinecken, N. Theriot

Professor Stenger, Chair, called the meeting to order.

Dr. Mordean Taylor-Archer, Vice Provost for Diversity, discussed the University’s diversity goals and progress to date.

At the conclusion of Dr. Taylor-Archer’s remarks, the Chair returned the Assembly to the regular order of business.

The minutes of the meeting of January 25, 2008, were approved as distributed.

The Chair asked for a motion for approval of the candidates for graduation for May 2008, pending successful completion of all requirements. The motion was made and seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

The floor was opened for nominations for Assembly officers for AY 2008-2009. Various voices nominated Tom Byers for Chair and Mary Ann Stenger for Parliamentarian. The nominations were seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

The Chair recognized Professor Leichty for the Planning and Budget Committee and Professor Hanchette for the Curriculum Committee who moved, seconded by the committees, the approval of the degree proposal for a B.S. in Atmospheric Science in the Department of Physics. The motion carried unanimously.

The Chair recognized Professor Roebuck for the Personnel Committee. Prior to presenting the proposed changes to the College Personnel Policy, Professor Roebuck requested approval for an editorial correction to the changes as circulated with the agenda: in section 2.4.C.1 the word “Committee” should be retained. This correction was accepted as editorial.

Professor Roebuck moved, seconded by the Personnel Committee, the changes as circulated. She explained that the changes in the document were primarily responses to changes in the Redbook which must be reflected in unit policies: the substitution of “Executive Vice President and University Provost” for “Provost” wherever it appeared in the document; and the deletion of “collegiality and adherence to professional standards,” “effective collaboration with colleagues and students,” and “professional conduct and personal integrity” as criteria for review.

Additionally, there were changes in 2.4.C.2. to streamline the process of periodic career review when the faculty member has had four or five satisfactory reviews within the review period. In 3.1.B. the statement was added that “The Dean may require College faculty to report two weeks before Fall classes begin and continue in actual attendance until two weeks after the end of the final examination period in the Spring except when an approved AWP provides otherwise.”

Discussion of various points included Professors Wise, Burns, Ferre, Boehm, Pfeffer, Allen, Griffin, and Hall.

Professor Anderson moved that the question be called. The motion was seconded. The motion to call the question carried.

The chair put the motion to approve all changes to the document as circulated. The motion carried.

The Chair recognized Professor Richardson, Director of Honors, who nominated Jacqueline Roe Cobb, a double major in Liberal Studies and Spanish, as the Woodcock Medalist for AY 07-08. The motion was seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

The Chair recognized Dean Hudson, who made brief remarks about the budget situation as it currently stood.

Following the Dean’s remarks, the Assembly adjourned.