A&S Faculty Assembly Minutes April 20, 2007

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Assembly Meeting

April 20, 2007

Registering Attendance:

Anthropology S. Parkhurst, J. Peteet, C. Tillquist
 Biology C. Corbitt, W. Pearson, S. Remold, D. Schultz
Chemistry J. Richardson
Classical & Modern Lang

W. Cunningham, M. Dalle, T. Dumstorf, J. Greene, G. Hutcheson, A. Leidner, R. Luginbill, M. Makris, A. Mastri, W. Pfeffer, C. Sullivan, L.Wagner

Communication A. Futrell, J. Gregg

M. Biberman, D. Billingsley, T. Byers, K. Chandler, G. Cross, J. Dietrich, S. Griffin, P. Griner, B. Horner, K. Kopelson, B. Leung, C. Mattingly, A. Powell, A. Rabin, G. Ridley, S. Ryan, J. Webb, B. Willey, B. Williams, J. Wolfe, T. Yohannes

Geography/Geosciences K. Mountain
History C. Ehrick, T. K’Meyer, S. Levi, Y. Ma, R. Njoku, K. Spierling
Humanities A. Allen, K. Gray, E. Wise
Mathematics U. Darji, L. Gibson, A. Miller, T. Riedel
Pan-African Studies J.B. Hudson
Philosophy D. Owen. O. Wiggins
Physics D. Brown, C. Davis, W. Hoston
Political Science

O. Avdeyeva, J. Bunck, A. Caldwell, J. Farrier, M. Fowler J. Gainous, T. Gray, S. Hua, S. Matarese, R. Payne, L. Rhodebeck, S. Wallace, C. Ziegler

Sociology J. Beggan, J. Busch, A. Furr, C. Negrey
Theatre Arts L. Thomas, R. Vandenbroucke
Urban & Public Affairs S. Bourassa, S. Koven
Women’s & Gender St

K. Christopher, C. Fosl, A. Harris, D. Heinecken, N. Theriot


Professor Byers, Chair, called the meeting to order.

The minutes of the Assemblies of December 8, 2006, and March 30, 2007, were approved as distributed.

The Chair read the proposed change to the position description of the Dean of the College, an addendum to the By-laws (p.8), stating that the dean reports to the “Executive Vice President and Provost” rather than to the “Office of the President.” This was the second reading of the proposed change. The change was moved and seconded. Hearing no call for discussion, the Chair put the question and the motion carried.

The Chair called for approval of the candidates for graduation for May 2007, pending successful completion of all requirements. Approval of the candidates was moved and seconded. The motion carried.

The Chair recognized Professor Richardson, Director of Honors, who moved, seconded by the Honors Advisory Committee, the naming of Emily Siu Clausen, a biology and Spanish major graduating summa cum laude, as the 2007 Woodcock Medal. The motion carried unanimously.

The Chair announced that nominations were now open for Assembly officers for academic year 2007-2008. Professor Byers was elected Chairperson of the Assembly and Professor Stenger was elected Parliamentarian.

Hearing no call for further business, the Chair said he would entertain a motion to adjourn. Motion to adjourn was made and seconded and carried.