A&S Faculty Assembly Minutes April 16 2004

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Assembly Meeting

April 16, 2004

Registering Attendance:


S. Parkhurst, E. Segal, C. Tillquist


G. Cobbs, C. Covell, C. Gulledge, J. Jack, M. Klotz, D. Schultz


B. Buchanan

Classical & Modern Language:

R. Buchanan, A. Cedeno, W. Cunningham, M. Dalle, J. Greene, G. Hutcheson, A. Leidner, A. Mastri, M. Medina, W. Pfeffer, C. Pooser, L. Wagner, L. Zeng


J. Ferré, J. Hart, K. Walker


D. Anderson, M. Biberman, B. Boehm, T. Byers, J. Dietrich, A. Golding, S. Griffin, P. Griner, K. Hadley,D. Hall, S.A. Henke, A. Jaffe, D. Journet, K. Kopelson, C. Mattingly, G. Ridley, M. Rosner, S. Ryan, B. Williams, J. Wolfe


J. Anderson, C. Hanchette, C. Leuthart, K. Mountain,W. Song


A. Allen, B. Beattie, W. Lee, S. Levi, T. Mackey, R. Njoku, K. Spierling, L.S. Weissbach


A. Allen, N. Polzer, M. Stenger, E. Wise


G. Barnes, I. Levi, T. Riedel, D. Swanson

Pan-African Studies:

B. Hudson


E. John, R. Kimball, A. Kolers, T. Maloney, D. Masolo, O. Wiggins


D. Brown

Political Science:

A. Caldwell, D. Clayton, M. Fowler, T. Gray, D. Imbroscio, R. Payne, S. Wallace, C. Ziegler


S. Meeks


J. Beggan, A. Furr

Theatre Arts:

N. Burton, R. Vandenbroucke

Women’s & Gender Studies:

K. Christopher, C. Fosl, D. Heinecken, N. Theriot

Professor Hall, Chair, called the Assembly to order.

The minutes of the meeting of February 13, 2004, were approved as distributed.

The Chair recognized Assistant Dean Taylor who moved approval of the candidates for graduation for May 2004, pending successful completion of all requirements. The motion was seconded. The Chair put the question and the motion carried.

The Chair recognized the representative of the Honors Advisory Committee who presented the committee’s recommendation of Abigail Crawford as the 2005 Woodcock Medalist.

The Chair recognized Professor Klotz, who moved, seconded by the Planning and Budget Committee, to approve departmental status for the Program in Women’s and Gender Studies. Discussion included Professors Maloney, Wise, and Pfeffer. The Chair put the question and the motion carried.

The Chair recognized Professor Beattie, who moved, seconded by the Curriculum Committee, a motion for the transfer of the B.S. degree in Science-Dental Hygiene to the School of Dentistry. Hearing no discussion, the Chair put the question and the motion carried.

The Chair again recognized Professor Beattie on behalf of the Curriculum Committee. At the Assembly of January 23, the committee was charged to review the College’s requirements for B.A. and B.S. degree and return to the Assembly with recommendations. Professor Beattie presented the following statement from the committee:

The College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Louisville offers an intellectually and culturally diverse education that prepares graduates for democratic citizenship in the city, the state, the nation, and the world.

A bachelor of arts degree provides an intellectually diverse education in liberal arts and sciences, with a specialization in at least one discipline (maximum 40 hours). Knowledge of a foreign language is a key part of the bachelor of arts degree.

A bachelor of science degree provides an intellectually diverse education with a disciplinary specialization and specific attention to research/statistical methods, applied technology, internship, or professional or discipline-specific skills (maximum 60 hours). In evaluating new or revised B.S. programs, the college curriculum committee will use as a guideline 12 hours in one or more of the specific attention areas listed. [3/25/04]

Discussion included Professors Wise, Pfeffer, Golding, Byers, Griner, Griffin, Klotz, and Weissbach.

Professor Griffin moved that the statement be returned to the committee with instructions that the committee invite comments and suggestions from the faculty prior to revising the statement. The motion was seconded. The Chair put the question and the motion carried.

A motion for adjournment having been made, the Chair put the question and the motion to adjourn carried.