Faculty Assembly Minutes, September 25, 2002

College of Arts & Sciences


September 25, 2002

Registering Attendance:
Anthropology: E. Segal, C. Tillquist
Biology: J. Alexander, C. Gulledge, J. Gulledge, D. Schultz
Classical and Modern Languages: M. Dalle, J. Greene, A. Leidner, M. Makris, F. Nuessel, W. Pfeffer, L. Wagner, J. Winkler, L. Zeng
Communication: M. D'Silva, S. Esrock, J. Ferre, A. Futrell, J. Hart, G. Leichty
English: M. Biberman, K. Chandler, J. Dietrich, S. Griffin, D. Hall, D. Journet, C. Mattingly, K. Mullen, T. Van, B. Williams
Geography/Geosciences: J. Anderson, B. Dakan, C. Hanchette, C. Leuthart
History: A. Allen, J. Cumbler, J. McLeod, L.S. Weissbach
Humanities: A. Allen
Mathematics: K. Clancey, L. Larson, I. Levi, R. Powers, T. Riedel, W. Williams
Pan-African Studies: B. Hudson
Philosophy: A. Kolers, D. Masolo
Physics: D. Brown
Political Science: A. Caldwell, J. Farrier, T. Gray, P. Laemmle, S. Matarese, R. Payne, L. Rhodebeck, N. Schwartz, S. Wallace
Psychology: J. Brennan, S. Meeks
Theatre Arts: N. Burton, R. Frye, A. Harris
Women's Studies: K. Christopher, D. Heinecken, N. Theriot
A & S Student Council Representative: B. Matney

Professor Harris, Chair, called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

The minutes of the meetings of February 5, 7, 12, 14, 18, 26, March 5, 7, 18, and April 9 and 16 were approved as distributed.

The chair recognized Professor Leammle, Chair of the ad hoc committee for revision of the by-laws and standing rules of the College. Professor Laemmle moved, seconded by the committee, the approval of the revised documents.

The Chair noted that while 2/3 majority was required to approve the by-laws in their entirety, amendments to the proposal could be approved by a simple majority.

Following general remarks about the major differences between the present by-laws and the proposed revisions, the assembly began a review of the proposed document seriatim. (References are to the section numbers of the proposed new by-laws on which there was discussion.)

VIII.A. Meetings of the Faculty Assembly

The Chair recognized Professor Cumbler, who moved to return the number of persons required to petition an assembly to the current level of 15, rather than a majority of the number constituting the quorum for the Faculty Assembly, as proposed in the new draft.

The motion was seconded. Discussion included Professors McLeod and Griffin.

Hearing no call for further discussion, the Chair put the question on Professor Cumbler's motion and it passed.

IX. B. Organization of the College of Arts and Sciences: Kinds of Committees

The Chair recognized Professor Pfeffer, who said that she intended to propose the creation of a Legislative Council. The Chair asked that she give her motion to Assistant Dean Taylor for posting to faculty prior to the next meeting.

IX.B.(2) b. Faculty Assembly Actions

The Chair recognized Professor Theriot who moved to amend the document by striking this section. ("Actionable motions before the Faculty Assembly may be approved, rejected or returned for revision.") The motion was seconded.

Discussion included Professors Hall, Dakan, Griffin, Esrock, Journet, J. Gulledge, Pfeffer, and Kolers.

Professor Pfeffer moved to table Professor Theriot's motion until next week's meeting.

The motion was seconded. The Chair put the question on the motion to table, and the motion carried.

The Chair requested permission to suspend the order of business in order to establish a time for next week's meeting. As the announced time conflicted with the meeting of the Faculty Senate, he asked if it was the wish of the Assembly to set a new time.

Professor Journet moved that the Assembly's next meeting be Wednesday, October 2, 2:00-3:15 p.m. rather than 3:00-4:15 p.m. The motion was seconded.

The Chair put the question on the time of the next meeting, and the motion carried.

IX.B. (2) c. Challenges to Committee Decisions

The Chair recognized Professor Hall who moved that this section be changed to be consistent with the change approved in VIII. A. as to the number of person needed to petition an Assembly. The motion was seconded.

The Chair put the question, and the motion carried unanimously.

IX.G.(2): Composition (of Faculty Grievance Committee)

The Chair recognized Professor Williams, who expressed concern about the removal of the requirement of divisional representation from committee composition and inquired where in the document it would be appropriate to propose re-adding this requirement.

There was no formal motion, but discussion included Professors Hall and Weissbach.

Professor Pfeffer moved that the Assembly recess until October 2 at 2:00 pm.