Faculty Assembly Meeting, Sept 8 1999

College of Arts & Sciences


September 8, 1999

Registering Attendance:
Aerospace Science: T. Cox, P. Reagan, M. Shirley
Anthropology: L. Markowitz, J. Peteet, R. Reid, E. Segal
Biology: J. Alexander, C. Covell, R. Fell, J. Jack, M. Klotz
Chemistry: P. Kozlowski, G. Pack, J. Richardson
CML: R. Buchanan, C. Cedeno, S. Cro, W. Cunningham, D. Day, J. Greene, A. Greenfeld, R. Luginbill, M. Makris, M. Medina, W. Pfeffer, C. Pooser, L. Wagner, J. Winkler
Communication: S. Esrock, J. Ferre, H. Gourgey, J. Hart, G. Leichty, M. Morgan, J. Nix, R. Tardy, K. Walker, C. Willard, S. Willihnganz
English: R. Camacho, G. Cross, J. Dietrich, J. Findley, D. Hall, D. Journet, S. Ryan
Fine Arts: C. Fulton, J. Grubola, B. Hufbauer, W. MacDonald
Geography/Geosciences: A. Clarke, W. Dakan, D. Howarth, C. Leuthart, K. Mountain, D. Scott
History: B. Adams, A. Allen, J. Cumbler, S. Herlin, M. Kim, T. K'Meyer, T. Mackey, J. McLeod, M. Nelson, P. Sidelko, N. Theriot, L. Weissbach
Humanities: K. Gray, M. Stenger, E. Wise
Justice Administration: T. Hughes, W. Walsh, T. Whetstone
Mathematics: G. Barnes, R. Davitt, M. Jacobson, T. Riedel
Military Science: T. Pedigo, D. Thomas
Pan African Studies: E. Dogbe, B. Hudson, F. Iyun, T. Rajack-Talley
Philosophy: J. Flodstrom, T. Maloney
Physics: D. Brown, J. Chalmers, S. Liu
Political Science: A. Caldwell, M. Frazier, S. Peters, N. Schwartz, P. Weber, C. Ziegler
Psychological & Brain Sciences: B. Burns, E. Essock, D. Molfese
Sociology: C. Talley
Theatre Arts: N. Burton, A. Harris, M. Hottois, L. Thomas

Professor Harris, Chair, called the Assembly to order at 3:05 p.m.

The reference to the "Department of Geology/Geosciences" in the minutes of the meeting of April 13, 1999, was corrected to the Department of Geography/Geosciences. The minutes were then approved as corrected.

Professor Harris called on department chairs to introduce their new faculty members.

Following the introduction of new faculty, Dean Willihnganz discussed faculty accomplishments during the past year and the major opportunities and challenges she sees before the College in the coming year.

Hearing no call for additional business, the Chair declared the meeting adjourned at 3:55 p.m. A reception honoring new faculty was held immediately following the assembly.