Center welcomes 22 to Teacher Scholars Program

(Sept. 2, 2015) LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Twenty-two social studies teachers have been named to the the McConnell Center’s prestigious year-long Teacher Scholars Program.
Center welcomes 22 to Teacher Scholars Program

Participants in the 2015-16 TSP cohort will explore dual themes of “America at the End of War” and “Statesmanship” as part of the lecture and seminar series, earning more than 30 hours of professional development credit.

TSP, an annual program, is a signature professional development opportunity for teachers to work directly with and learn from national experts on American history, government and leadership. Kentucky social studies teachers in grades K-12 are eligible to participate.

"Candidates applied in record numbers from all regions of our Commonwealth in their call to strengthen the civic fiber of our Kentucky students. This is something all candidates should take great pride in," said Benjamin Gies, graduate assistant for the McConnell Center's Civic Education Program.

The 2015-16 cohort reflects 11 high, 8 middle and 3 elementary school social studies teachers, with teaching experience ranging from 1 to 36 years in the classroom.

“My excitement is immeasurable to begin working with the McConnell Teacher Scholar Program,” said Leah McGray, a teacher at North Hardin High School and a first-year participant in McConnell Center programming. “I am hoping that not only will I benefit from this experience, but my students will benefit having a teacher who is growing.”

2015-16 partipants include:

  • Christina “Niki” Cecil, Corbin Middle (Corbin Independent Schools)
  • James Clapp, Powell County High (Powell County)
  • Monica Clark, North Bullitt High (Bullitt County)
  • Rita Cron Hines, Atherton High (Jefferson County)
  • Annabeth Edens, Royal Spring Middle (Scott County)
  • Jeff Frazier, Sacred Heart Academy (Louisville)
  • Keely Green, North Oldham Middle (Oldham County)
  • Bobby Henson, Villa Madonna Academy - High (Covington)
  • Kate Janke, Highlands Latin (Louisville)
  • Andrew Kincade, Walden School - Middle (Louisville)
  • Janette Luttrell, Science Hill - Elementary (Science Hill Independent)
  • Leah McGray, North Hardin High (Hardin County)
  • Justin Mitchell, Franklin-Simpson Middle (Simpson County)
  • Howard Muncy, Jackson County High (Jackson County)
  • Ginny Muse, Montgomery County High (Montgomery High)
  • Kelly O’Riley, Western Middle (Jefferson County)
  • Jessica Ruddy, Martha Layne Collins High (Shelby County)
  • Emily Slater, Saint Agnes School (Louisville)
  • David Stigall, Connor Middle School (Boone County)
  • Elizabeth Stokes, One Room Schoolhouse (Louisville)
  • Vincent Tinker, Valley High School (Jefferson County)
  • Matthew Waldrop, Louisville Male High (Jefferson County)