University of Louisville School of Medicine Honors Exceptional Faculty

Posted on November 28, 2023
University of Louisville School of Medicine Honors Exceptional Faculty

Image of 2023 Faculty Excellence Awards

The University of Louisville School of Medicine held its 5th Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence on November 16, 2023, to acknowledge and celebrate the remarkable contributions of its faculty members in the areas of service, teaching, and research. The event took place at the Kosair for Kids Clinical and Translational Research (CTR) building from 4:30 PM to 6:30 PM. Over 100 people gathered to celebrate the event, including Provost Gerry Bradley.

Jeffrey Bumpous, MD, interim dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for academic medical affairs, expressed his admiration for the faculty's dedication to shaping the future of healthcare and making a significant impact on the Commonwealth of Kentucky. "The commitment our faculty have to educating the next generation of physicians and scientists, advancing the future of healthcare, and improving the conditions of the Commonwealth is astounding," Dr. Bumpous remarked. "It is an honor to recognize the achievements of our faculty."

The 2023 Faculty Excellence Awards honored individuals in the following categories:

Outstanding Scholarship, Research, and Creative Activity Awards:

  • Basic & Applied Sciences Award: Sanjay Srivastava, PhD
  • Career Achievement in Research Award: Steven C. Koenig, PhD

Distinguished Service Awards:

  • Service to UofL Award: Raymond Orthober, MD
  • Service to Profession Award: Gary Vitale, MD
  • Service to the Community, Commonwealth, or Region Award: Keith Miller, MD
  • National/International Service Award: John Wise, Sr., PhD
  • Career of Service Award: Ronald Paul, MD

Educator Awards:

  • Gratis Faculty Teaching Award: Arthur Malkani, MD
  • Outstanding Educator Award: Nicole Herring, PhD
  • Career Achievement in Education Award: Aaron Calhoun, MD

Multicultural Teaching Award: Luis Marsano, MD

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award: Corrie Harris, MD

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Champion Award: Jennifer Porter, MD

Each of these awards recognized exceptional faculty members who have shown exemplary dedication and commitment to their respective fields. The University of Louisville School of Medicine takes pride in its faculty's outstanding contributions to medical research, education, and service, and these awards aim to acknowledge their hard work and dedication.

In addition to the regular awards that are given, this year the School of Medicine recognized:

  • 21 promotions from assistant professor to associate professor
  • 14 promotions from associate professor to professor
  • 11 newly tenured appointments
  • 11 Endowed Chairs

The 5th Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence at the University of Louisville School of Medicine is a testament to the institution's ongoing commitment to fostering excellence in medical education, research, and service, and it serves as a reminder of the significant role the school plays in advancing the healthcare landscape both locally and globally.

View photos from the event here.