Dean's Staff Excellence Awards returns to in-person celebration

Staff members from the University of Louisville School of Medicine were recognized for their creativity and dedication at the 6th annual Dean’s Staff Excellence Awards on March 31.

The event, hosted by Dean Toni Ganzel, honored School of Medicine Staff nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding excellence exhibited over the last 12 months.

“Our staff lean in during periods of plenty and during periods of challenge, and let’s face it: we see a little more periods of challenge than we do periods of plenty, especially the last two years,” said Dean Ganzel, speaking during the event. “You are sometimes sung, sometimes unsung heroes in just the way that you quietly and daily carry out exemplary work.”

Over 30 staff members were nominated for seven different award categories. The awards were presented to:

  • Shelly Matthis and Rhonda Pugh, co-awardees for Performance Excellence in an Administrative Office
  • Jason Xu, for Performance Excellence in a Clinical Department
  • Phyllis Harris, for Heart of the School
  • Shorye Durrett, for the Anti-Racism, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award
  • Medical Student Affairs, for Team of the Year
  • Mandy Ryan, for Employee of the Year
  • Ashlee Melendez, for the Dean’s Lifetime Achievement Award

This was the first in-person award ceremony in two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It was so nice to see everybody face-to-face and in person,” said Dean Ganzel, “I wish we could have these monthly.”

View photos from the event here.