4th Annual Celebration of Faculty Excellence Awards

The 4th annual Dean's Celebration of Faculty Excellence was hosted on November 2 on the Health Sciences Campus. The event was attended by School of Medicine faculty and leadership in honor of our faculty who bring distinction to our university through their commitment to the areas of service, teaching, and research.

This was a record-breaking year, with 40 nominations for faculty members and some being nominated multiple times. The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation was added to the program this year, as well as engraved memorabilia recognizing all nominees. 

“I am continually in awe of the passion our faculty brings to the School of Medicine,” said Toni Ganzel, MD, dean of the School of Medicine. “To all of our nominated faculty members, thank you for your dedication to our students, our school, and to our profession. Your hard work does not go unnoticed.”

The 2022 Awardees are as follows:

Outstanding Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity Awards:

  • Basic & Applied Sciences award
    J. Christopher States, PhD
    Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Career Achievement in Research award
    Janice E. Sullivan, MD
    Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Pediatric Clinical Research Unit

Distinguished Service Awards:

  • Service to UofL award
    Jennifer P. Daily, MD
    Associate Professor, Department of Family and Geriatric Medicine
  • Service to Profession award
    Robert Martin, II, MD, PhD
    Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Surgical Oncology
  • Service to the community, Commonwealth or Region award
    Melissa L. Currie, MD
    Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Forensic Medicine
  • National/International Service award
    Mark Slaughter, MD
    Professor, Department of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgery, Division of Adult Cardiac Surgery
  • Career of Service award
    Susan Galandiuk, MD
    Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Educator Awards:

  • Gratis Faculty Teaching award
    Patricia M. Purcell, MD, MBA
    Clinical Associate Professor Gratis, Department of Pediatrics
  • Outstanding Educator award
    Russell W. Farmer, MD
    Associate Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Colorectal Surgery
  • Career Achievement in Education award
    Kathy M. Vincent, MD
    Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Multicultural Teaching Award:
       John Chenault, PhD
       Associate Professor, Office of the SOM Dean, Division of Undergraduate Medical Education

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award:
       Sheridan R. Langford, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics