Gassman named Debate Society winner

(April 28, 2015) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Freshman McConnell Scholar Robert Gassman wins the Debate Society championship.
Gassman named Debate Society winner

Robert Gassman and Sean Williamson (click to enlarge)

McConnell Scholar Robert Gassman (’18) was named the champion of the McConnell Scholars Program Debate Society on April 16. Gassman debated topics such as U.S. sanctions against Iran, Indiana's religion freedom law and the merits of co-ed classrooms as part of the multiple-round tournament.

"I really enjoyed learning the debate process and growing my oratory skills this semester. We had a great group participate this year, and I can't wait to be back and debating next season!" said Gassman.

Debate finalists included Jacob Abrahamson ('17), Jeremy Ball ('17) and Anna Cecile Pepper ('18).

“Debate society provides a forum for Scholars to improve their public speaking, advocacy skills and overall confidence,” said Sean Williamson, director of the debate society. Williamson is a 2011 graduate of the McConnell Scholars Program and 2014 graduate of the University of Pennsylvania Law School.

The winner was determined through a tournament-style competition at the end of the semester-long program.

Judges included Thomas Mackey, PhD, and McConnell Scholar alumni GlyptusAnn Grider Jones ('07) and Kirk Laughlin ('10).

By Chloe Zoeller, Class of 2016