Points of Pride

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Gender Equity Award

In partnership with the UofL Women's Center

The Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Gender Equity Award is presented to a member of the UofL community--broadly defined to include all of those, past and present, who have some affiliation with the University of Louisville -- whose work has directly furthered gender equity. This award is given to a member of the U of L community who has done significant work towards gender equity.  It is named in honor of Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, constitutional scholar, the first woman to serve as chair of the U of L history department, and the first woman chair of the faculty senate.  Dr. Tachau was active in pay equity struggles at the university and in many other issues both on campus and in the civic community.  Her papers are part of the Women’s Manuscripts Collection in the U of L university libraries.

We are pleased to announce that Nancy Theriot, Ph.D., professor in Women's and Gender Studies, was awarded the 2018 Mary K. Bosteel Tachau Gender Equity Award at the 2018 Women's Empowerment Luncheon. The award is co-sponsored by the Commission on the Status of Women and the Women's Center. COSW Commissioners, along with Chair Sherry Duffy, were present to give the award.