2019 Alumni Awards Luncheon

Image: Alumni Awards Banner

October 25, 2019

11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Lawrence Grauman Award

Justice Lisabeth Hughes

Deputy Chief Justice Lisabeth T. Hughes was named deputy chief justice of the Kentucky Supreme Court in February 2017 by Chief Justice John D. Minton Jr.

Justice Hughes has served on the Supreme Court for over 11 years and has been a judge for 22 years. She was appointed as a justice in 2007 to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of the late Justice William E. McAnulty Jr. In November 2008, the voters of Jefferson County elected her to serve as the justice from their district. She was re-elected in November 2014.

Prior to taking the Supreme Court bench, Justice Hughes served as a Kentucky Court of Appeals judge from 1997-1998 and a Circuit Court judge in Division 3 of Jefferson Circuit Court from 1999-2006. She was reappointed to the Court of Appeals in 2006 and later elected to that court, where she was serving when she was nominated by the Judicial Conduct Commission and appointed by the governor to the Supreme Court. Justice Hughes is the only woman who has served on Kentucky's three highest courts.

Justice Hughes graduated magna cum laude from the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, where she was named Outstanding Graduate and served as executive editor of the law review. Before serving as a judge, she practiced law in Louisville for 15 years, concentrating on business and commercial litigation.

Justice Hughes is chairwoman of the Civil Justice Reform Commission and in that role is spearheading the implementation of Business Court in Kentucky. She also chairs the Supreme Court's Civil Rules Committee and has been the Supreme Court representative on the Board of Trustees of the Kentucky IOLTA Fund since 2008.

Justice Hughes is past president of the Louis D. Brandeis Inn of Court and continues to serve as a Master of the Inn. She is former chairperson of the alumni council for the University of Louisville Louis D. Brandeis School of Law and served as a trustee for the Kentucky Judicial Form Retirement System Board from 2000-2012. She is a past Louisville Bar Association Judge of the Year and was recognized as the UofL Law Alumni Fellow in 2009.

In 2018, Justice Hughes received the Judge Benjamin Shobe Civility and Professionalism Award from the Louisville Bar Association. She is also a 2007 graduate of Leadership Louisville.

Other Awards

Dean's Service Award
Allison Connelly
Distinguished Alumni Awards
Melanie Bootes
Melissa Norman Bork
Shannon Fauver
Michelle Mees Harper
Clarence Wilbon
Recent Alumnus Award
Drew Eckman
Gail Robinson Award
Johnathan Miller
Outstanding Faculty Member
Cedric Merlin Powell
Outstanding Staff Members
Office of Professional Development: Laurel Hajek, Debra Reh, Jina Scinta



Galt House Hotel
Carroll-Ford Room
(second floor)

140 North Fourth Street
Suite (East) Tower
Louisville, KY 40202


$60 person
Some discounted registrations and table sponsorships available.

Registration Deadline

October 23, 2019

Refund Policy

Registration fees cannot be refunded, but substitutions are permitted.

Table Sponsorships

There are two sponsorship options available, $500 Harlan Level and $1,000 Brandeis Level. If you are interested in sponsoring a table, please contact Wendell Clark or call at 502-852-0516.

Contact Us

Tracie Cole