Center for Engaged Learning

Preparing students through real-world experience, exploration and reflection


The Center for Engaged Learning (CEL) collaborates with campus, community, and industry partners to expand engaged learning opportunities for undergraduate students inside and beyond the classroom. The CEL celebrates diversity and pursues equitable opportunities for all students to participate in high-quality experiences.


Center for Engaged Learning

Belknap Campus

Belknap Village South, First Floor

(502) 852-9540

Campus Partners

University Career Center

J.B. Speed School of Engineering Real-World Learning

College of Business Ulmer Career Management Center

Office of Study Abroad and International Travel

Office of Student Involvement

Office of Community Engagement

National & International Scholarships Office

Health Equity Innovation Hub

Our Team

Dr. Gail DePuy

Senior Vice Provost

Dr. Paul DeMarco

Director, Undergraduate Research & Creative Activity

Erica Gabbard

Director, Experiential Learning

Billye Potts

Administrative Coordinator

Advisory Boards

Experiential Learning Advisory Board
Department Member
University Career Center Bill Fletcher
Engineering Career Center Mary Andrade
Ulmer (CoB) Career Center Eileen Davis
Community Engagement Henry Cunningham
Study Abroad Virginia Hosono
Faculty, English Mary P. Sheridan
Faculty, Political Science Tricia Gray
Delphi Center Marie Brown
Office of Student Involvement Quantá Taylor
MAPS Lily Assgari
Digital Transformation Center Ashley Triplett
Cultural Center Leondra Gully
Library Alexandra Howard
Faculty, Public Health Tammi Thomas
External Advisory Board Members
Department Member
Louisville Forward Matthew Bowen
GLI Tosha Ridenour
KentuckianaWorks Michael Gritton
Kentucky Chamber of Commerce Joe Frazier
Kentucky Science Museum Mike Norman
Evolve 502 Marland Cole
JCPS Aimee Green Webb
St. Vincent de Paul Marie Tull
UPS Chris McCorkle
Humana Cory Darden
ISCO Industries Rachel Jaggers
UofL Health Orville Blackman
Family Scholar House Denise Thomas
University Advancement Asma Addarrat-Edwards
EVPRI Office Laurie Young
Student Advisory Board
Degree Program Member Grad Date
Chemical Engineering Amelia Coomes 2025
Computer Information Systems & Finance Prince Chenou 2024
Accounting & Finance Mitchell Blasdel 2023
Political Science & Economics Nino Owens 2024
Political Science Daniel Ngongo 2024
Political Science & Finance Mikaella Tañales 2025
History Kaylee Vitato 2024
Humanities Mandala Gupta VerWiebe 2025
Biology Abby Breeze 2026
Neuroscience Yaara Aleissa 2026
Neuroscience & Biology Gopika Gopan 2023
History & Humanities Abigail Stanger 2024
Biology Harshith Gontla 2024
Psychology & Biology Betty Ngo 2023
Music Education Rachael Cole 2022