Evan Shepherd receives Truman scholarship

(April 19, 2013) LOUISVILLE, Ky. - University of Louisville junior Evan Shepherd has been named a 2013 Truman Scholar, a prominent award given to 62 U.S. college students and valued at $30,000.
Evan Shepherd receives Truman scholarship

Evan Shepherd

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation awards the prize to college juniors with a record of outstanding leadership and community involvement who want to pursue careers in public service.

Shepherd, a political science major who will graduate in May 2014, will use the scholarship to pursue dual graduate degrees in law and education from Stanford University.

“This award is less about me personally and more about the future of students coming from backgrounds similar to mine,” Shepherd said. “If education can bring me this far, education can bring a generation out of poverty. I hope this award will further show people just how far education can take you.”

A Hopkins County, Ky., native, Shepherd already has earned numerous academic accolades, including McConnell, Porter and Gates Millennium scholarships.

“Evan passed up a football scholarship to come to the University of Louisville and focus on academics,” said UofL President James Ramsey. “That says a lot about Evan and his passion for learning and public service which are now being rewarded with a prestigious Truman Scholarship. We couldn’t be more proud of him.”

“Evan is extraordinary in so many ways,” said Patricia Condon, director of UofL’s Office of National and International Scholarship Opportunities. “He’s a top scholar, leader and activist who has worked hard his entire life and impresses everyone with his humility and purity of spirit.”

"Evan is a generous and talented young man who cares deeply about the future of our nation and who will use this prestigious award to better himself and his community," said Gary Gregg, director of the UofL's McConnell Center.

Ten UofL students have been Truman Scholars since 1977, the year the national program was launched, and Shepherd is the only 2013 scholar from Kentucky, Condon said. Elizabeth Sawyer, a 2004 McConnell Scholar graduate, received the Truman Scholarship in 2003.

"We are very proud of how we have been able to help young leaders hone their skills and think more deeply about the challenges facing our nation," said Gregg.

– Original story by UofL Today