Faculty, Affiliated Scholars & Educational Representatives

Faculty, Affiliated Scholars & Educational Representatives


Our organizational model integrates current and future programs in humanism and ethics education and research by leveraging the academic partnership between UofL - Health Sciences Campus, as well as UofL - Belknap Campus.

Doukas photo David J. Doukas, MD

Director of Medical Humanism and Ethics, the William Ray Moore Endowed Chair of Family Medicine and Medical Humanism, and Professor of Family and Geriatric Medicine. View CV [PDF]

Founder and President of the 501(c)(3) organization, Academy for Professionalism in Health Care, an organizational home for educators, administrators, scholars, and learners in medical ethics and medical humanities who strive to improve professionalism in all venues of health care.

Full Text Publications by Dr. Doukas OR read Dr. Doukas' Full Text Publications through Researchgate (requires Researchgate or FB Signin)

Dr. Hanson's Professional pic Stephen Hanson, PhD

Associate Professor of Philosophy and Adjunct Assistant Professor in Family and Geriatric Medicine. 

Endowed Chair/Distinguished Scholar in Urban Health Policy and Professor of Psychiatry and Family and Geriatric Medicine. View CV [PDF]

Clinical Professor, Family and Geriatric Medicine and Adjunct Professor in Philosophy. View CV [PDF]

Associate, Division of Medical Humanities and Ethics, Department of Family and Geriatric Medicine. View CV [PDF]

Mark Rothstein, JD

Herbert F. Boehl Chair of Law and Medicine. View CV [PDF]

Valerie Harris Weber, DMD, MA

Director GDOM 849 - Ethical Issues in Dentistry, UofL School of Medicine. View CV [PDF]

Affiliated Scholars

The division also has an active Affiliated Scholar Faculty with nineteen faculty members from the Health Sciences Campus (in Family Medicine, Education, OB/GYN, and the School of Public Health & Information Science), and the Belknap Campus (Philosophy and Law). The Affiliated Scholar faculty from these areas assists in ethics teaching and small group discussion through the Division’s teaching venues.

Health Sciences Campus

School of Medicine

  • Demetra Antimisiaris, PharmD
  • Lori Earnshaw, M.D.
  • Ruth Greenberg, PhD
  • Charles Kodner, MD
  • Sara Petruska, MD
  • Stuart Urbach, MD
  • David Wiegman, PhD

School of Public Health and Information Science

  • Carlton Hornung, Ph.D, M.P.H.
  • William P. McKinney, MD

Belknap Campus


  • Robert Kimball, PhD
  • Avery Kolers, PhD
  • Nancy Potter, PhD
  • Osborne P. Wiggins, Jr., PhD


  • Timothy S. Hall, JD

Educational Representatives 2013-14

  • Masters Student Representative, The Division of Humanism and Ethics

Angie Carson

  • Medical Student Representative, The Division of Humanism and Ethics

Eric Kreps

  • Resident Representative, The Division of Humanism and Ethics

Cristina Fernandez

Contact Us

Andrea Sinclair

Program Coordinator for the Masters Program