Women's Empowerment Awards Dinner: 30th Anniversary Celebration

Program I Evaluation I Watch Recording

Women's Empowerment Awards Dinner: 30th Anniversary Celebration

The Women’s Center is celebrating 30 years at the University of Louisville! That’s right –30 years!

Our 30th Anniversary celebration, Our Future is Intersectional: Re-Imagining Leadership Development, was held Tuesday March 21st 5:30-8:30pm in the Founders Union Building on the University of Louisville ShelbyHurst Campus. 

This year, we plan to focus on the importance of an intersectional feminist and antiracist framework in social justice leadership with our celebration serving as the kickoff.


A panel of Louisville community leaders highlighting the importance of collective work in social justice with a feminist perspective

Moderated by: Edison Pleasants, University of Louisville Muhammad Ali Scholar

  • Dr. Kaila Story, Associate Professor, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, with a joint appointment in the Department of Pan-African Studies. She holds the Audre Lorde Chair in Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
  • Cathe DykstraChief Possibility Officer, President & CEO of Family Scholar House and President & CEO of Family, Inc. 

  • Grace SimrallChief of Civic Innovation and Technology, Louisville Metro Government

  • Karina Barillas, Executive Director La Casita Center

Women’s Center Awards Presentations

Tachau Gender Equity Award

Presented by UofL's Commission on the Status of Women and the Women's Center

  • Professor Emerita Riffat Hassan

Dr. M. Celeste Nichols Award

Presented by the Women's Center

  • Abbie Bordewyk
  • Imisha Gurung
  • Jillian Pearlsall

Community Pearls of Kentucky - Recognition of 30 women and femme community leaders

Presented by Marian Vasser, Assistant Vice President for Inclusive Excellence and Belonging & Marcos Morales, Program Coordinator, Hispanic/Latinx & Indigenous Initiatives

Entertainment from the community 

  • Destiny Carter (DJ DNasti)
  • Rheonna Thornton
  • Kaila Washington


Thanks to our sponsors!