Board of Trustees

Upcoming Meetings:

Per Kentucky Revised Statute 164.821, the government of the University of Louisville is vested in a Board of Trustees appointed for a term set by law pursuant to Section 23 of the Constitution of Kentucky. The Board shall consist of thirteen total members, as follows: (a) ten members appointed by the Governor, at least one of whom shall be a graduate of the university; (b) one member of the teaching faculty of the university who shall be the chief executive of the ranking unit of faculty government; (c) one member of the permanent staff of the university who shall be chief executive of the staff senate; and (d) one student member who shall be president of the student body during the appropriate academic year.

In accordance with the statutory authority of the Commonwealth of Kentucky and implemented in the By-Laws of the Board of Trustees and the governmental procedures for the University, the Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University of Louisville. Within the limits set by the Federal and State Constitutions and federal and state law, the Board shall actively engage in policy making, be responsible for aiding the University to perform at a high level of excellence, adopt an annual budget and ensure that the financial resources of the University are sufficient to provide a sound educational program, and periodically evaluate the University’s progress in implementing its missions, goals, and objectives.

The Board of Trustees shall have the powers set forth in KRS 164.830, including the authority (i) to select, hire, regularly evaluate, and, when appropriate, suspend or remove the President of the University; (ii) to receive and administer University revenues; and (iii) to grant degrees to graduates of the University.

Office of the President

Grawemeyer Hall, Suite 102

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292

Social Media