UofL Women Center's Awards and Scholarships


Women's Empowerment Award

The Women’s Empowerment Award is given to an individual, community member or business who through their professional work, personal passion or sponsorship empower women supporting the mission of the UofL Women’s Center.




Past Women's Empowerment Award Recipients

Women's Empowerment Luncheon/Award

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Gender Equity Award

Sponsored by the Commission on the Status of Women.

Nominations are invited for the Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Gender Equity Award which will be presented to a member of the UofL community--broadly defined to include all of those, past and present, who have some affiliation with the University of Louisville -- whose work has directly furthered gender equity. This award is given to a member of the U of L community who has done significant work towards gender equity.  It is named in honor of Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau, constitutional scholar, the first woman to serve as chair of the U of L history department, and the first woman chair of the faculty senate.  Dr. Tachau was active in pay equity struggles at the university and in many other issues both on campus and in the civic community.  Her papers are part of the Women’s Manuscripts Collection in the U of L university libraries.

Past Tachau Award Recipients

Tachau Award Nomination Form (WORD)


Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Essay Contest 

The University of Louisville Women’s Center announces the first annual Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Essay Contest for the 2017 fall semester. The purpose of this contest is to raise awareness of the historical sociological attitudes toward women of the 20th Century and their impact on individuals and society as a whole. The essay should draw upon the experiences of Dr. Tachau and relate those experiences to other individuals and situations (which can include the writer’s own growth or achievements).  

Dr. Tachau’s papers are housed in the Women's History Collection at the University Archives as part of the Women’s Manuscripts Collection Project. Additional articles about Dr. Tachau are available at the Women Center in the Administrative Annex.

The winners will be invited to attend the Women’s Center Empowerment Luncheon on November 9, 2017 to receive recognition.Award amount is $500 for the undergraduate essay and $500 for the graduate essay.  The award funding will be distributed via the Financial Aid Office. All undergraduate and graduate students who are currently enrolled at U of L are eligible to apply. Awards are made possible through a grant in the honor of the Women’s Center.

An electronic submission is also required and must be sent to Phyllis Webb  prior to the deadline. No essays accepted after the deadline date of Friday, October 6, 2017.

Mary K. Bonsteel Tachau Essay Guidelines

Essay Entry Form

Past Essay Contest Award Winners

Dr. M. Celeste Nichols Award

This award is given to UofL graduate students for travel or other professional development needs apart from tuition or books.  It is named in honor of M. Celeste Nichols--student, scholar, mentor, and professor. She was the first African American to receive a Ph.D. from UofL’s English Department.  Dr. Nichols taught African- American literature and basic writing at UofL, Kentucky State University and at Bellarmine University before her death in 1996 at age 45.  Winners are chosen according to how well their intended use of the award supports the mission of the Women’s Center and Dr. Nichols’ legacy.  This award is given with generous support from the Commission on Diversity and Racial Equality (CODRE).

Requirements for Celeste Nichol's Award (WORD)

Application for Celeste Nichol’s Award (WORD)


Ann T. Allen Endowed Scholarship

The Ann T. Allen Endowed Scholarship is for current University of Louisville undergraduate students that are student-parents and the annual amount to be awarded is approximately $1,000 to students who meet the criteria.