The University of Louisville is one of nine public institutions of higher learning in the Commonwealth of Kentucky coordinated by the Council on Postsecondary Education and accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.  It is a state supported research university located in Kentucky's largest metropolitan area and was a municipally supported public institution for many decades prior to joining the state system of higher education system in 1970. The University has three campuses. The 287-acre Belknap Campus is three miles from downtown Louisville and houses eight of the university's 12 degree-granting colleges and schools. The Health Sciences Center is situated in downtown Louisville's medical complex and houses the university's four health-related schools and the University of Louisville Hospital. The 243-acre Shelby Campus is located in eastern Jefferson County.

In fall 2020, total enrollment was 23,246 students.  Of these, 16,118 were undergraduates, 6,320 were graduate students, 100 were post-doctoral students, and 708 were house staff.  The university employed 2,723 faculty and 4,276 staff.

In 2020, the university had an operating budget of approximately $1.2 billion, an endowment of $707 million, and $95.4 million in federal funding.

Data are in the latest "Just the Facts"

Office of the Provost

Grawemeyer Hall

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292


Much of this Handbook is in pdf format. To navigate through a section using its bookmarks, open the pdf with Adobe Acrobat Reader and click on the Bookmarks tab to show the topics and keywords bookmarked.