Image of all Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery faculty and residents as of Summer 2020

The modern Louisville program began in 1973 with the arrival of Leon D Fiedler, DDS as Chairman. He built the department with Brian Alpert, DDS as residency director, Shelley Caulder, DMD and Martin Steiner, DDS as faculty. The program “ownership” was transferred from the Louisville General Hospital to the University of Louisville School of Dentistry in 1979.  In 1981 the program moved to the new facility at the Ambulatory Care Building of the new University of Louisville Hospital. In 1989 by mandate of the Council on Dental Education the program was extended to 4 years.

In 1990, with the enthusiastic support of the University of Louisville School of Medicine, the MD required 6-year program was begun. George Kushner, DMD, MD joined the faculty in 1992 becoming the residency program director in 1994.

For a 35 year period, beginning in 1973, the program benefited greatly from the enthusiastic participation of Gerald D. Verdi, DDS, MD, an extremely gifted oral and maxillofacial surgeon/plastic and reconstructive surgeon in the community. He included and trained our residents and faculty in the existing area of cleft lip and palate and the developing field of craniofacial surgery.

In 2003 Paul Tiwana, DDS, MD, a pediatric craniofacial surgeon joined the faculty. After a most productive 6 years, he became residency program director at the University of Texas Southwest Medical Center in Dallas.

The modern program has resulted in 80 graduates practicing full scope oral and maxillofacial surgery from border to border and coast to coast – including Hawaii. 74 are American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Diplomates, No one has left the specialty. Three are oral and maxillofacial surgery program directors. Only 3 individuals have dropped out of the program during this period.