Derby Lectures

Peter AgreDr. Peter Agre, MD

  • Recipient of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2003.
  • Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and Director John Hopkins Malaria Research Institute

Peter Agre shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2003, with Roderick MacKinnon for his work in the discovery of water channels in cell membranes.  He has served as Professor of Medicine and Biological Chemistry at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Vice Chancellor of Science and Technology at Duke Medical Center.

Monday, May 8th at 1:30 PM:
Technical Lecture
"Aquaporin Water Channels: From Atomic Structure to Malaria"

Tuesday, May 9th at 12:30 PM:
General Audience Lecture
"Bridging Science and Society: Advocating for Human Rights and Diplomacy while Fighting Disease Worldwide"

Sponsored by:

University of Louisville College of Arts and Sciences logo

Clariant logo

*Images courtesy of Will Kirk/JHU.

Location: UofL Gheens Science Hall & Rauch Planetarium

2016 Joseph Francisco, Dean, Arts & Sciences, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
2015 R. Graham Cooks, Henry Bohn Hass Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Purdue University
2014 Martin Chalfie, Nobel Laureate of 2008
2013 Robert Floyd Curl, Nobel Laureate of 1996
2012 Richard R. Schrock, Nobel Laureate of 2005
2011 Ei-ichi Negishi, Nobel Laureate of 2010
2010 Daniel G. Nocera, Henry Dreyfus Professor of Energy
2009 Dudley R. Herschbach, Nobel Laureate of 1986
2008 Robert H. Grubbs, Nobel Laureate of 2005
2007 Royce W. Murray, Kenan Professor of Chemistry
2006 K. C. Nicolaou, Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry 2002
2005 Marye Anne Fox, ACS Garvan-Olin Medal 1988
2004 Kurt Wüthrich, Nobel Laureate of 2002
2003 Edward I. Stiefel, ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award 2000
2002 Robert S.Langer, Chemical Heritage Foundation Othmer Gold Medal 2002
2001 Harold A. Scheraga, ACS Ralph Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry 1999
1998 Phillip A. Sharp, Nobel Laureate of 1993
1997 Glenn T. Seaborg, Nobel Laureate of 1951
1996 Rudolf Marcus, Nobel Laureate of 1992
1995 Michael G. Rossman, Biophysical Society Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biophysics 1998
1994 F. Sherwood Rowland, Nobel Laureate of 1995
1993 Jacqueline K. Barton, ACS Pure Chemistry Award 1988
1992 Sidney Altman, Nobel Laureate of 1989
1991 William G. Dauben, Arthur C. Cope Scholar 1990
1990 Mark S. Wrighton, ACS Pure Chemistry Award 1981
1989 Sir Derek Barton, Nobel Laureate of 1969 In Memory of Sir Derek Barton
1988 K. Barry Sharpless, Nobel Laureate of 2001
1987 Leo A. Paquette ACS Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award 1984
1987 Barry M. Trost, ACS Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award 1981
1986 Robert Bruce Merrifield, Nobel Laureate of 1984
1985 Harry B. Gray, ACS Distinguished Science in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry Award 1984
1983 Ronald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate of 1981
1982 Jack Halpern, ACS Organometallic Chemistry Award 1995
1982 Bryce Crawford, ACS Priestley Medal 1982
1981 Herbert Brown, Nobel Laureate of 1979
1980 Melvin Calvin, Nobel Laureate of 1961
1979 Tomas P. Hirschfeld, SAS William F. Meggers (Society for Applied Spectroscopy) Applied Spectroscopy Award 1977
1979 S. P. Perone, Purdue University
1978 William Lipscomb, Nobel Laureate of 1976