Events

writing center events, writing events, LGBTQ, writing group, creative writing, writing retreat

We're committed to creating and supporting a culture of writing at UofL. Throughout the year we hold writing groups and events about writing to help support, and have fun, with all aspects of writing. All events are free and take place at the University Writing Center, on the first floor of Ekstrom Library. For more information about an event, click on a link below or contact us at 502-851-2173 or .

Spring 2020

Please note that we have updated this page to reflect the University's extension of spring break until March 17 and move to online instruction March 18-April 5. If you are unsure if, or how, an event will happen, email or call us! 

The Faculty and Graduate Student Writing Group meets every Thursday  5-7 p.m. starting January 16, 2020. March 18-April 5 meetings will occur virtually. for the meeting link. 

Tuesday, January 7 -  LGBTQ+ Writing Group

Monday, January 13 -  Creative Writing Group

Friday, January 17 - Personal Statement Workshop 

Tuesday, January 21 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group

Monday, January 27 - Graduate Student Writing Workshop:Strategies for Writing for Publication 

Monday, January 27 - Creative Writing Group

Monday, February 10  - Creative Writing Group

Tuesday, February 11 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group

Wednesday, February 12 - Graduate Student Writing Workshop: Writing a Literature Review 

Thursday, February 13 - Valentine's Day Open Mic Night with Miracle Monocle and The White Squirrel

Friday, February 21 - International Mother Language Day 

Monday, February 24 - Creative Writing Group

Tuesday, February 25 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group

Monday, March 2 - Creative Writing Group

Tuesday, March 17 - Graduate Student Writing Workshop: Approaches to Successful Grant Writing - CANCELED  

Tuesday, March 24 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group Virtual Meeting: for meeting link. 

Monday, March 30 - Creative Writing Group- CANCELED 

Tuesday, March 31 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group Virtual Meeting: for meeting link.

Monday, April 7 - LGBTQ+ Writing Group Virtual Meeting: for meeting link.