Derby Lectures

derby ticket

Each year the Chemistry Graduate Student Association invites a prominent chemist to the department as part of our Distinguished Lecture Series, known informally as the Derby Lectures. We are grateful to Clariant for sponsoring this series since 2003.

This year it is our privilege to have Dr. Alan J. Heeger, Nobel Laureate of 2000, giving the 2016 Derby Lecture.

Chemistry Specific Lecture

Electronic Structure of Semiconducting Polymer Field Effect Transistors with Mobility Approaching 100 cm2/Vs

Date/Time: Monday, May 9 at 1:30 p.m
Location: Gheens Science Hall and Rauch Planetarium

General Audience Lecture

Creativity, Discovery and Risk: Nobel Prizes Past and Future

Date/Time: Tuesday, May 10 at 12:30 p.m.
Location: Gheens Science Hall and Rauch Planetarium

2015 R. Graham Cooks, Henry Bohn Hass Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, Purdue University
2014 Martin Chalfie, Nobel Laureate of 2008
2013 Robert Floyd Curl, Nobel Laureate of 1996
2012 Richard R. Schrock, Nobel Laureate of 2005
2011 Ei-ichi Negishi, Nobel Laureate of 2010
2010 Daniel G. Nocera, Henry Dreyfus Professor of Energy
2009 Dudley R. Herschbach, Nobel Laureate of 1986
2008 Robert H. Grubbs, Nobel Laureate of 2005
2007 Royce W. Murray, Kenan Professor of Chemistry
2006 K. C. Nicolaou, Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry 2002
2005 Marye Anne Fox, ACS Garvan-Olin Medal 1988
2004 Kurt Wüthrich, Nobel Laureate of 2002
2003 Edward I. Stiefel, ACS Inorganic Chemistry Award 2000
2002 Robert S.Langer, Chemical Heritage Foundation Othmer Gold Medal 2002
2001 Harold A. Scheraga, ACS Ralph Hirschmann Award in Peptide Chemistry 1999
1998 Phillip A. Sharp, Nobel Laureate of 1993
1997 Glenn T. Seaborg, Nobel Laureate of 1951
1996 Rudolf Marcus, Nobel Laureate of 1992
1995 Michael G. Rossman, Biophysical Society Award for Outstanding Achievement in Biophysics 1998
1994 F. Sherwood Rowland, Nobel Laureate of 1995
1993 Jacqueline K. Barton, ACS Pure Chemistry Award 1988
1992 Sidney Altman, Nobel Laureate of 1989
1991 William G. Dauben, Arthur C. Cope Scholar 1990
1990 Mark S. Wrighton, ACS Pure Chemistry Award 1981
1989 Sir Derek Barton, Nobel Laureate of 1969 In Memory of Sir Derek Barton
1988 K. Barry Sharpless, Nobel Laureate of 2001
1987 Leo A. Paquette ACS Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award 1984
1987 Barry M. Trost, ACS Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry Award 1981
1986 Robert Bruce Merrifield, Nobel Laureate of 1984
1985 Harry B. Gray, ACS Distinguished Science in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry Award 1984
1983 Ronald Hoffmann, Nobel Laureate of 1981
1982 Jack Halpern, ACS Organometallic Chemistry Award 1995
1982 Bryce Crawford, ACS Priestley Medal 1982
1981 Herbert Brown, Nobel Laureate of 1979
1980 Melvin Calvin, Nobel Laureate of 1961
1979 Tomas P. Hirschfeld, SAS William F. Meggers (Society for Applied Spectroscopy) Applied Spectroscopy Award 1977
1979 S. P. Perone, Purdue University
1978 William Lipscomb, Nobel Laureate of 1976